A virtual machine box with compiled steem source code

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

These days, I'm very excited to play on steemit.com. As a developer, it's natural to check the source code of steem. But I was frustrated when I can not compile the code.

I think it's not just me. Many of you want to get a compiled version in your machine. After many time that switch between different version of Ubuntu, boost and other libraryies I failed. Then I found this post(in Chinese) Ubuntu 下 Steem 编译教程. Wow. I make it. After half an hour, I got a compiled version of STEEM!

But this is not enough. I wanna share my experience to help more developers. So I decided to create Vagrant Box, which you can use it freely on many operation systems, windows, mac, ...etc.

I create a github project:steem.vagrant. You can use it to create the box from scratch, or you can use the cooked box.

About Vagrant Box

vagrant logo

If you know it, please skip to next part.

Vagarant is a great software. It is a computer software that creates and configures virtual development environments(from wikipedia.org).

This tutorial is a good start point to learn vagrant.

Steem.Vagrant project.

The box is based on virtualbox 5.0. And also you need vagrant 1.8.5. Here are two options:

Option 1: Setup your own box

This is for advanced user who need to make their own box and add more features.

Option 2: Cooked box

This option for busy developers, who can use the virtual machine immediately. The box will be downloaded from https://atlas.hashicorp.com/. It may be time consuming because the box is almost 900M bytes.

  • mkdir vm
  • vagrant init feelapi/steembox
  • vagrant up

Next

Now you have a virtual machine that can run a steem node. Many things you can do:

codeb4fd3.jpg

Thanks steemit.com/@abit for your post. Any comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Thanks for your work. Namaste :)

Thank you for your great work. :) I am compiling the steem on Ubuntu now.

Good job, will try it out later.

Vagrant is really cool. I loaded your box image and I am running it now! All after a few minutes.

What is the use for it, though? I cannot vote for hardforks or have any control on the blockchain. Steemit is quite semi-centralized (and it makes sense that it is).

It's a development box. You can use this node for some testing project. Such as create a special web portal for one tag, such as steemit.

Mmm. Ok, testing, sure. Probably not for now, but I may get interested in a future.

Thanks!

~/vm$ vagrant up
-bash: vagrant: command not found

You have to install vagrant at www.vagrantup.com first. For now, they provide Mac, Windows, Debian and Centos. And also you need virtualbox 5.0. But on windows, vagrant up will install virtualbox automatically.

I just see setup.sh. Did you miss some steps?

en, I think I do not make it clear. the setup.sh is a script that create the box(steembox) from the standard Ubuntu box. If you setup vagrant and virtualbox, you can use the steembox directly, which means you do not need to create it by your self. What you need to do is vagrant init feelapi/steembox then the box will be downloaded(would be slow because it's almost 900M bytes).

Excellent! Very good share.

I'm pleased to see more and more submissions like this. I'm going to attempt this. Thanks.

Good Read , thanks for your work .. much appreciated !

You need some Upvotes

This is great! I'll definitely be playing with it when I have time. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57440.82
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42