I Lied

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Yes I'm still moving to Seattle, yes I want to be a producer, and yes my name is Parker. Those aren't where I lied. I had mentioned in my last post that I have no experience in filming and editing when in actuality I made a series of 3 videos in my last few months as a student in high school. I put clips from vacations I had taken with friends and family together with music in the background, not so much in an attempt to make a music video but rather to make a video scrapbook.

Two of these videos can only be found on Facebook which aren't able to be posted here, but one did manage to sneak to Youtube. It's the last video I made, nearly 5 years ago, and shows how I spent my summer vacation with my friends.

Now immediately upon viewing this I already have critiques. Why do I leave a thought-to-be edgy, 9 word quote available to read for 20 seconds? What is my obsession with sky shots? And why did I choose 9/11 to upload it, couldn't I have waited one more day?

Jokes aside, this video may seem like mindless shots with mindless locations, however this was actually my first experiment at making a structured video instead of a mindless scrapbook. The locations, especially the ones shown in the first minute of the video, were our main venues of hanging out(high school, parks, etc). And the clips used in the video are shown roughly in chronological order of how the summer went, with festivals being at the beginning, 4th of July festivities in the middle, and a camping trip towards the end.

Although I technically made this video for my friends, I really made it for myself. This video holds great importance to me. It's intention is to be a reminder of how good times can be when future times are uncertain. When I pasted the link in the blog I let the window of the video play as I write this and it has reached the end where it shows my friends and I hanging out at an overlook of the local airport. 

I'm tearing up now. Most of the people featured in the video are across state, in another country, or with other friends as a result of falling out. The remaining I'll be leaving in a week and 4 days when I set off for my adventure. I'm excited to go and have never been so anxious to leave. It's just going to be awhile before those laughs in the video will be heard together again.

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for the post, but I would advise you remove the Steemit tag as you may get flagged by one of the tagbots for tag misuse.

Cg

Ah, thanks for the tip! Still a tad new at this.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 7.9 and reading ease of 74%. This puts the writing level on par with Tom Clancy and F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49