You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seven Days In - My Thoughts and Experiences of Steemit Thus Far.

in #steemit7 years ago

"How is the reward pool split between authors and curators?
Up to 25% of a post's payout is awarded to curators (the people who upvoted the post) as a reward for discovering the content. The other 75% is awarded to the author. If curators vote for a post within the first 30 minutes of it being created, a portion of their curation reward is added to the author payout. This portion is linear to the age of the post between 0 and 30 minutes. Therefore upvoting at 15 minutes old will donate half of your potential curation reward to the author."

Interesting. From this to me it says it's best to do it right away vs at 30 minutes. I wonder if I am understanding that right?

Sort:  

Basically what it is saying is that the closer you get to the 30 minute mark before upvoting someone's post, the more of the curation reward you get. If you upvote at 15 minutes, the author gets half of your curation award. If you upvote at 7-1/5 minutes after it's posted, the author gets 3/4s of your curation award. If you upvote a post about a minute after it's posted, you get almost none of the curation award. If you want to donate to the author, vote early. If you want to make the maximum curation award, vote at 30 minutes. Of course, the potential curation award is split between all the upvoters, and what you get depends on when you voted. If there's a lot of upvotes, and you're one of the last ones, say at 6 days after the post was posted, the curation award might be fairly large, but as a late upvoter, you won't get much of it. It's a weird system that has it's good parts and it's not so good parts.

You explained it very well! Haha.

Just came across this post! It touches on some of this but in the aspects of self voting.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@shayne/self-voting-the-benefits-and-drawbacks

I went there and read it, it makes sense to me what he said about self voting. I used to think it a bit tacky to vote for my own comments, but if someone else upvotes my comment, I'm going to upvote it also, it will have more value to whoever upvotes it that way, and I might get a little something from it myself. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54