HOW TO SEE IF YOU HAVE BEEN MUTED OR UNFOLLOWED

in #steemit7 years ago

Screenshot_2017-06-16-09-06-54-1.png

It's inevitable that one day, some of your followers will decide that your blog is just not what they are looking for anymore. When you see that number go down, you immediately wonder "What did I do?"

Sometimes you haven't done anything. The follower's feed may have become too much or maybe they just aren't steeming anymore. Or maybe they just aren't interested in the topics on your blog anymore. Perhaps they never intended to stay a follower?

The problem I see with not knowing who has unfollowed or muted you, is that you might just be clicking away, hard at work upvoting and resteeming for them. All the while, they aren't even reading your blog anymore! In fact, after checking a few accounts, it seems pretty clear to me that there are certain users who are deliberately following just to dump you, while you continue following them and working hard to promote them!

Fellow Steemians, don't waste your votes! Your votes could be going elsewhere, to someone who appreciates you...

Now don't get me wrong, nobody has to give a follow for a follow. It's a free Steemit, after all. But if you are thinking that your "friend" is working as hard as you to help one another get exposure, you may just be rowing the boat in circles because the other guy already jumped ship!

0501171111b_HDR-1.jpg

So is there a tool out there to check your follower list? You bet there is! Simply copy and paste this link into your browser, and replace the parenthesis and dots with your username:

https://steem.makerwannabe.com/index.php?username=(.......)&period=4

You'll be able to see who's following, who has muted your blog (so it looks like they follow but they dont), and who has unfollowed. Have a thick skin guys. You may have an Unfollow from someone you spent a lot of time getting to know. It's puzzling and for me, quite personal.

0602172032a.jpg

I admit, I have muted a couple people who were posting literally every 10 minutes. Folks, I just can't scroll through all that (no wifi out here in the sticks)! I'll give them another chance in a couple weeks. But for now, every ounce of data that we can analyze about our blogs will help us to improve. And who knows, you might just win back some followers.

PLEASE RESTEEM SO OTHERS CAN HAVE THIS TOOL AS WELL. THANKS!

Picture_20170614_205351326.jpg

Sort:  

Perfect, and just what I was looking for. I don't usually sweat losing followers, but I had a few followers that I was assiduously supporting, thinking that I was getting some level of reciprocity. One could argue that this is a bad way to use Steemit, and one would be right. Lesson learned.

For me too. I was trying to help someone and they had unfollowed me the same day they followed. But thats ok, now I know and can help someone else right! Glad you could use the tool. Have a great day!

I am now following you, but I think this app only lets you know when you are infollowed, not muted. but i could be wrong.

Haha.....I agree...those suckers need to get got

I would only hope that people follow me simply because they like the quality of content that I have to offer. I feel that we trying to build a momentum of people in this community, so that we can learn and share with each other common passions and ideas. So my perspective, if someone unfollows me than so be it. I post a bunch about gardening and health so I would hope like minded folks would join my journey. Thanks for sharing and upvoted.

I totally agree. I wish everyone was just as wholesome. I've seen an influx of new people tearing through the community though and I want to help protect us. Ultimately, we would all like to make some moola to help our families, but I've seen some people coming in who look predatory. So now you have another tool in the toolbox. And you are one of the ones I wish great success for! Thank you for your support hon!

thanks boss

Wow, interesting. Thanks for posting this! Followed and resteemed.

Thank you! Hope it helps you

Fantastic, very helpful to know this and great tool to share, thanks and appreciated.

I'll have to try this 😉

Check out my blog, they said, you may have some advice, they ventured...

Cha-yeahhhh right? This post is frigging BRILLIANT and I immediately slapped the resteem button like I was Simon Cowell on America's Got Talent going for the gold buzzer!

Slam dunk. You need no advice, give ME some - oh wait, this post just DID!

Good shix. See you in the steem, new friend!

Did we just become best friends? :D

Its mostly theatre of the mind here, so if you keep writing like that comment, well BFFs for life!

People don't think I be like I am, but I do! Stay tuned. We're just getting the pilot lights lit on this steem engine!

Yes, this is important to have this Kind of hide options some people definitly make a lot of noise

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39