Should Steemit (busy, eSteem, etc) HIDE THE WALLET?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

image.png

Since I am a believer of Steem, I mean, I really think Steem value will go up. I don't know how much it will be on December, on 2020, on 2025... but I think it will be higher than today, for sure.

This week (maybe today) I will be buying like 140 Steem, to power up of course. As I stated before, I buy Steem with the money I earn by referral fees in Bitso and also this time I will change my SBD to Steem, taking the advantage that SBD is worth a bit more than Steem.

And I've been thinking a lot on what happens when people around you knows you HAVE money. Earlier this year I made 500USD by some business and as soon as someone knew She asked me for money, that was crazy o.o ...After my purchase this week, I will have near 500 Steem, which will turn into 500USD soon. But, what will happen next?

People asking for money is not the worst part; come to think of it, this is not a safe world for anyone. At this moment you can calculate how rich someone is by the car they have, their house, their clothes, their cellphone... but you have no idea how much they have in their bank accounts. Right now someone could have an old car and a mobile that looks that was free in a box of cereal but $100,000 USD in their bank account. And no one would think it is like that.

But at Steemit, EVERYONE KNOWS how much you have. Being maybe SO paranoic I think someone could be kidnaped for the long it takes to power down and change to fiat, and that makes me... I don't know... kind of fearly.

I don't think anyone could kidnap me or another minnow for $500~ but, remember, the value of Steem will increase.

The most pesimistic think Steem will be $10 not so far away from now, so, if you have $500, they will be $5000. That is a good quantity of money, isn't it?

But there is people who think it could get to $1000, so your (or my) $500, would be $500,000. So kidnap worthy o_o

Will it get to $1000, I don't know, if it does... when? I don't know either. But in case it does... Make sure you never write your address or other personal data in here, like your phone number or email.

Let me say it again, maybe I am being so paranoic. In case I am, let me know; and also give me more security advice, please.

My baby is sleeping so calm right now, that gave me time to write this. And I want her to keep taking nap calm for the rest of her days.


You can find me here { | | }

Sort:  

Wow incredible the way you express that feeling of concern that maybe many people will not understand, but for the country in which we live is the least you can think, how complicated it is to have a little money in a country with so much violence, robbery and kidnapping, it is the bread of every day, it is worth making sure, distributing by different means, those resources, I am going to give resteem to this post to have it always present, thanks for sharing! Do you work for Bitso? Interesting how the referral plan works? I'm with them, greetings!

Noou I don't work for bitso. When you make an account you can see your referral link in your profile and if someone clicks it and make his account you get some earnings everytime that person buys or sell a crypto. I was lucky one of my referrals understood pretty well about trading soon n.n
Actually I think bitso is pretty bad :s and expensive, but we leave in the country of the less worse u.u

I've thought about this. Not so much with kidnapping, as I'm way to heavy to move with out a crew of ten peoples...

But you could have:

  • Being doxxed [hackers throw all your personal info online]
  • Threats/Harrassments
  • Blackmail (although most people don't have anything to worry about)

If Steem hit a high level, I'd very much likely split up @overkillcoin into more accounts, making them as anonymous as I could. It would be okay to start anew, I believe, since if Steem was high I could literally live off of just curation rewards. @overkillcoin, at that point, as long as I still had my fan base, could still give out decent upvotes even with smaller SP and could still continue to make some "greet poztz" if I wanted to.

But I'd actually ask for some smart person's opinion instead of accepting mines XD

That's a very good idea!!! Allthough making a steemit account could become harder (or more expensive); splitting accouts sounds grate. Keeping the original as an orca and make a few whales :D

Btw, I don't know what blackmail is...

Blackmail refers to a situation that arises when a person threatens another person with some form of punishment if they do not offer some form of concessions.

When you told me to do something - or you would down vote my (non-existent) cow -
that was a form of

blackmail

Oh! Sorry for that xD
Btw I thought I would find doxxed in translate but didn't lol, does it mean what you wrote in sub?

Yes, they might give the whole internet your name phone and street address... peoples are sick :(

Oh! Like when they sell it to big marketing companies and stuff?:s

No they just announce it to EVERYONE on the internet. Publicly! It happens...

That is really sick!!!!:s

This is smart, you should be cautious of course. Good for you to realize this and take care. I did not post my face or youtube links at all, for a year. I hope we can all make this a safe and fun place!

unlucky me, my name is so uncommon... my choice will be to split accounts I guess.

Tu bebé te ha dejado subir un post!! En realidad estoy mejorando el ingles con tus posts ¡Saludos Fabi! un abrazo.

PERFECTOO! :D Métete a un curso de inglés y con lo que vayas aprendiendo ve posteando ;D Así vas a practicar y ganar más Steem jiji

I've thought about the same thing, maybe it is because we are mexican that we are more afraid.

That's the sad truth we have here in Mexico :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99