The Reason Behind Steemit's Slow Demise

in #steemit7 years ago

Some Observations

Has anyone else noticed how the @minnowbooster bot is providing $10+ upvotes lately? You'll notice that many of these posts receiving the $10+ upvotes are new-er accounts.

This means that there are people who are exploiting @minnowbooster for profit. Many of these posts are low quality and are the only post from each account.

This leads to the question: How many of these accounts are bots?

Followed by: How many of these accounts are owned by the same individual(s)?

I'm sharing these thoughts and findings so that our strong group can take a deeper look, and I'm requesting the assistance of #bisteemit to take a look into how extensive this epidemic has become.

Thanks in Advance!

Let's make Steemit a better place!

Sort:  

I followed, this was a really good post, Keep it up Buddy!

wow, you did follow me.. That's an impressive truth. Upvote for Honesty!

Yes, lets make Steemit a better place for everyone posting and reading! 👍

Those fiends! Bring your pitchforks and torches!

If you are being sarcastic, "Nothing Goes Over My Head. My Reflexes are Too Fast. I Would Catch it." - quoted from the movie: Guardians of The Galaxy (2014)

It is a valid question...

We see a lot of garbage hit the trending pages while quality, original content gets mired in oblivion.

As such, it is the nature of things right now...we will see how it all evolved.

steemit is still a new platform being only 18 months old. We are still in the beta stage. Let us all hope the developers are working on something that will really help solve some of the issues that people repeatedly mention.

I've been here since June and have seen a marked decline in the quality and overall experience on Steemit since I started here. The first 2 weeks when I was the least familiar with the platform were the best 2 weeks of my experience. Since then, there have been a few forks (soft & hard) and the quality of content has declined at about the same rate that the quantity of bots has increased.

It's actually very interesting to know that many of the bots joined around the same time that I joined. It's possible that nefarious individuals saw the same advertising for Steemit as I did, and they began their plans for exploiting the rewards pool for monetary gains only, as opposed to the original purpose of Steemit, which was to be the "new Facebook", but with rewards going to the users as opposed to the advertisers.

I also have a strange feeling that the increased latency we're experiencing on the Steemit page is due to the roll out of SMTs on the Steem blockchain, and the Steem blockchain not being able to support the bandwidth required for all of these additional transactions.

thank you for bringing this to the attention of the bi team. I am posting this in the community to see who will take this analysis on

This is noted. Although I know that the MinnowBooster team is already looking into it (MB vote abuse).

yeah, I actually took up some of this on my own as well. @reggaemuffin responded to my other post and I finally found a few free moments to do some analysis. @minnowbooster is doing a nice job with reducing the amount of spammers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46