Steemit is Under Attack

in #steemit7 years ago


Pixabay Source

Please look at all of these accounts and tell me what you see in common.

Hint:

  • All are Relatively new accounts.
  • Each have One or two posts.
  • All of them were loaded from a crypto exchange with 10 SBD.
  • Same 10 SBD sent to @minnowbooster for an upvote.
  • Rinse and repeat all over the platform...

https://steemit.com/@nomon/transfers
https://steemit.com/@pugr256/transfers
https://steemit.com/@pezhuzesho/transfers
https://steemit.com/@raisss/transfers
https://steemit.com/@svatmiron/transfers
https://steemit.com/@vupol/transfers
https://steemit.com/@maramalad/transfers

When will we realize that for as much good as an upvote bot may do, the cost far outweighs the benefits!?!

My other question is where in the hell are they getting their reputations from!?!

By the way, I found more than half of these in less than 5 minutes by simply searching the Hot section on Steemit..

Please help stop this maddness @buildteam, @thecryptodrive, @cryptomancer and @reggaemuffin!

Where is @sherlockholmes? @steemcleaners? @ned? Steem Originals and supporters?? @stellabelle?

Sort:  

I suggest you tag further posts of this type with #minnowbooster so I can find them :)

Will do! Thanks for the response!

I'm planning to run a SteemSQL analysis on this to see how extensive this epidemic may be. I'm truly afraid of the results that I'm going to find, considering that I'm still finding more of these accounts posting this morning...

Nice catch! I'll put them on the list to review and unvote! If they abuse minnowbooster they will loose money.

I have a couple more that I found this morning as well:
https://steemit.com/@jvgv25/transfers
https://steemit.com/@llyuba/transfers

It seems like all / many of these accounts are also exploiting the @originalworks bot...

Thank you! Can you list me all users who posted? That way I can unvote them faster. I am finished with the unvoting feature and will now catch up the list of offenders :)

btw, minnowbooster uses originalworks and we use all these examples to improve the bot and give feedback to it's author. There is currently a second version of it that is far more accurate.

Hi! @evolve08gsr
You didnt explain how the cost of upvote got from the bot outweighs the good. I wish to know better. Thanks
@praise-eu

The most weighing cost of the up-vote bots is the ability for bad actors to abuse them. This requires bot creators to build extensive checks and balances in their bots, or the bots will drain and dilute the rewards pool for everyone.

All of the minnows who the bots pledge to support are, in effect, being forced to "pay to play" on the Steemit Platform. Those with more money (SBD) are able to use these bots more frequently, and appreciate greater rewards from the bots than those who have less money.

By having the bots, minnows are forced to use these bots in order to compete and achieve any sort of substantial reward for their hard work. OR they are forced to not use the bots, suffer from their lower rewards, and continue to watch the "wage gap" increase between them and others who are using bots for profit.

I truly believe that the idea behind upvote bots for minnows had a genuine intent to help minnows. Unfortunately, there are far more individuals who only care about money and will cheat every way possible in order to make more profit, than the honest ones who use these potentially helpful tools in the correct way.

The best way for someone to use any of these up-vote bots (in my opinion) is by voting for others. Afterall, that's what this platform is about. Supporting each other. Not just supporting yourself..

Thank you! You should write a post about it :)

I reviewed all the users you send to me and unvoted them. They seem to be one ring of abusers and I think they just lost a few hundred SBD. I also improved our backend tooling and if you send me one sending account, I can immediately find all receivers of it and validate them. Abusers will have a really hard time!

Please chat me up on discord and we can discuss some compensation for you finding all these abusers of minnowbooster.

Thank you for helping to make your bot better!

Like I said, I do truly believe that the idea behind the creation of many of the upvote bots was indeed to help others. It's too often though, that I witness the abuse of such bots and come back to the same conclusion that having these bots as a part of the community does more harm than good.

Either way, I'll look you up on discord in a short while :)

After finishing up some manual review of my SteemSQL Query results, I'm going to post another list of accounts who are performing similar actions. I'm just making sure that my code is accurate and doesn't need refinement.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73