Have I Already Posted About This?

in #steemit6 years ago

We all know Steemit is not very user friendly on the frontend side of things. Something I think would be highly needed is a better way to go through someones blog, especially when some of the users have been actively posting for over two years. I would love it if there was a way to easily go through someones blog by just clicking to the oldest post, or select a certain month to look up. Just like any and every other blog platform has. I do understand that blockchain works differently but come on, it can’t be that hard.

When I come across a new (to me) user, I always want to see how they started and especially if they are an artist of sorts, if they posted a proper introduction post in the beginning. If there are hundreds of posts and re-steems to go through, I give up.

Even more than I would like to go through someone else’s blog more efficiently, I find I have the need to go through my own!



Sometimes I want to check if I already posted about a certain subject, need a link to an old post or have an old image I want to use for a new post. I often find myself trying to google my own blog and a certain topic because I’m not quite sure if I have already talked about it before.

I make a lot of drafts on my notes and if I don’t finish the and erase after posting it, I might go back to it and do it all over again. I entertain ideas in my head a lot and I can’t remember if or when I have already written about them, or just thought about dong a post about it.

I wonder if @tarazkp has the same problem, because he consistently writes 4 posts per day, that is a lot of content! For me it’s a bit easier when I do mainly photography heavy posts and those I can find from my folders to see if I have finished them and visual things are easier to remember to me. But what comes to more text based posts, I have no idea what I have and have not talked about before.

So I am sorry if I sometimes repeat subjects, I blame Steemit and/or early onset Alzheimers!

Sort:  

Here, our fellow steemian @eonwarped engineered a little gem for us.
https://eonwarped.github.io/steem/allposts.html

Type any username and/or without tag and you will have a list of all posts from that user - even all taraz's posts can be listed . :)

YOU are a gem, thank you so much! This is super helpful to me.

That is very cool. THanks.

EDIT . It does work!!!! Thanks @svemirac big thanks to @eonwarped!!

I will add a better reply. Even if you have posted about it before, if it important to you now, it is probably important to others too. Also, your follower count is growing each day so if you posted 3 months ago about it, there are hundreds or thousands that are unlikely to have come across it before. If it adds value to the platform/community/users now, there is no problem in a little repetition.

In reply to both of your comments: It's comforting to know I'm not alone in this and I probably overthink this a little too much at times. I really am counting on others not always remembering what I have done before, but sometimes people comment to me about my doings that I didn't even remember myself 😅

They do say: repetition is the mother of learning.

They do say: repetition is the mother of learning.

Luckily, I have a thing for milfs ;)

I have a terrible memory so my trick is, don't care. If I don't remember, maybe others won't :P

Honestly, I think @tarazkp is right, if it matters to you now, you should probably say it again. Chances are people will have forgotten anyway due to the incredible number of daily posts. If I have hundreds of posts in my feed and go through some dozens, I will have forgotten that you wrote about it in a week, because it's too much information.
Besides, maybe someone missed your first post.

That is a good point. But what if a person did read it, and forgot about it because it was so boring? That is not good either!

Definitely not, but then, if he thought a post was boring, maybe he unfollowed the OP or maybe he sees the title, remembers that this was the post that bored him to death and then the OP is busted...
tenor.gif

I've been bugging witnesses about a real working search function for around a year now..... no bueno..... yet...

I did bug @gtg with this months ago, and he did dig up the issue in Github (which I know nothing about) and it seemed to be a long gone and forgotten topic. Clearly not high on the priority list.

If i have a feeling im double posting ill just do a quick site search with my username and the topic and see what comes up. Sometimes ill reference them in my new posts, doubt anyone clicks on it. Gosh can we not get any sort of steemit analytics? Id love to know what they view and read and shit!

I also posted my suggestions for steemit UI and it looks like it pretty much got lost with the rest of the submits. I'd prefer to be a Steemit purist but this thing ain't getting any support when it comes to UX. I switch between Steemit, Busy & Partiko mostly but there are so many platforms eSteem, Steekpeaks no human can really keep up!

I'm the same, Steemit purist! And I don't play with any of those side platforms, it's just too much.

It's kind of funny and weird to be googling our own posts, and for me it's hard because the titles I use are sometimes so cryptic that it's hard to find what I am looking for. And how does one google a picture? "eveuncovered cute summer look white dress" 😅😂

You make it sound so dirty lol side platforms, like Steemit babe it was one-time im sorry! She offered me a free upvote if i posted on her!

Lol well kinda, if you added alt text or named your pic something you could or drop the image in google and do a reverse image search. I tried it in now


Screen Shot 2018-08-22 at 16.06.54.jpg

Ahahhaha I really hope a lot of people DON'T do this 😂😅

Agree, a way to better browse through old posts would be very useful, I try to use the search function to check, whether I have already posted something or not. But unfortunately, not all posts are indexed by Google. Steemit needs a native search engine, not Google's.

That is one of the first things I remember about Steemit! I did a search and noticed Steemit is using the google search engine and I thought to myself that this place is such a scam and will die in no time.

I have the same problem when I'm trying to figure out what tarot deck to feature, and what song to sing.
After a certain number of minutes scrolling, I give up.

It's quite frustrating sometimes! I guess if the post doesn't come up with a few minutes of scrolling, ain't nobody gonna remember about it if you do it all over again.

Not sure if it has all the search features and other things you are looking for, but I just found Steampeak interface this week and am liking it's presentation so far. Love the ability to re-arranged into a block format. Check it out!
https://steempeak.com/@ksteem

there is supposed to be another UI called Steemsurfer or something that allows you to go back and edit old posts and also can let you schedule when your post will post, they may have a search function as well.

I don't care about busy and this and that, I want STEEMIT to work better.

my only concern for using alternative UIs is with security and that they take a cut of your post rewards but on the other hand you get more exposure if that app also has a following and curation, STEEMIT seems to be in beta after more than 2 years, don't hold your breath. I would really like @haikubot to have a searchable database as well.

I think Steemit will be in beta for forever. I have thought about the security issue also and decided to stay away from the sister sites.

some of the surfer features are pretty appealing and sooner or later I will need some steemit app on my phone. I like to wait and see for a while if something turns out to be secure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14