[Proposal] Special icon for promoted postssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

This is how it may look like.



I think that promoted posts should be shown in 'hot' and 'trending' sections in such order as if promoted money come from user votes. Algorithm of ordering should not differ promoted post from regular ones. Displayed reward sum is fine as it is now.

Disclaimer: Those posts from my picture aren't actually promoted. I've just made a random screenshot and edited it with Photoshop.

PS: Does anybody know how long promoted post stays in promoted section? Where can I read about it? Can I promote an old post?

PPS: Don't hesitate to resteem or promote this proposal!

Sort:  

Good idea. I don't think it makes sense to separate promoted - how often do people actively look at advertising.

I look at the Promoted page because it is always reasonably high quality posts, even well before they are voted to Trending, but with much less spam than New or Hot. People won't generally spend money to promote garbage so it is a good anti-spam filter.

Good point - I have heard some people say that they never look at promoted but I quite often find it a good place to find decent posts myself!

If you like the idea, you could resteem it. Thanks!

Would love to but I have already resteemed quite a few things today!

i don't know about mixing them into hot and trending along those lines like that, but I LOVE the visual next to the post. I'd vote for that, as it's easier to immediately identify what is or isn't promoted.

This would be a good feature. It would show users who is burning SBD, and therefore helping the economy.

Great idea... upvoted and resteemed

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.47 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I like this idea. And I've resteemed it.

Thanks for the help.

One concern would be users promoting their posts for 0.001 SBD.

Why not set a minimum limit at X to get the special icon?

I think 1 SBD is fair...?

Good idea :)

Icon of promoting may intent that user tries to advertise something in it. So it is unlikely that such posts will always draw more attention than regular ones.

Possibly. At least currently a lot of users use it to promote 'regular' posts, just to get more exposure.

Lol, it is really funny to see how my 12 votes come to 100+ in 1-2 minutes. It looks likes all those voters were bots). I'm not saying that this is bad, though.

I think it's from proxy votes so when one of the people who are proxy voters votes for your post everyone who let them vote proxy for them votes on it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40