We Need a Thang.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago


What kind of thang: says you.
.
A tool.... fool: says I.
.
Watch your mouth son. Says you.
.
Let’s not go down that road. Says I.
.
Let’s not. I’d hate to have to whup your ass. Says you.
.
In your dreams. Says I
.
Say What? Says you.
.
We need a thang. I done said that. Says I.
.
Yeah you did. You’re clear as mud. ‘Splain your self .Says you.
.
Ok. Listen up. Here’s what I got : Says I.


Why are we on Steemit? Ask ten different steemers and get ten different answers.

Some claim to be here to save the planet. Saving the whales is so ‘pass say’ now. Besides...most people I know have collected the whole set...time to move on to bigger and better things. Planets are about right.

Some want to talk trash...er... I mean ...they want to talk Poly-Ticks. Same thing really.

Some want to talk testicle...er...I mean technical. Some in general, about science and stuff. Astronomy, Biology, Geology, and lots of other ‘ologies’.
Some want to talk more specific, Electronics, Cybernetics, and other ‘ics’.

Some want to talk about Gardening, Helping the (insert your favorite cause here), prepping for when the SHTF, boats, guns, and drugs.

In short we have a very diverse group here...as it should be. I like it.

But we’re all here for ONE thing.

For the money.

Getting paid to Blog is what sets Steemit apart from all the other Social Media. Most of the other platforms are older. (insert rant: ‘we’re still in beta here) MUCH easier to use (insert rant: The Steemit GUI Sux! here) and much bigger. Some, like FaceBook have more users than most countries have people. Steemit is more like a small town. Small village actually. We may have 100k accounts but most of them are either inactive or owned by the same person. (insert rant It’s not FAIR here)

We’re all here for the money.

So how do we best cultivate the ROSE?



(return on sweat equity)

I dunno.

Perhaps we need a tool.

I have a request. How bout someone...one of the Tech-Geeks that infest this place, (and I say that with all respect. Scissors is about the limit to my technological understanding) build us a tool. A data base analysis tool.

The data base would be our ‘story’, our ‘experience’, what we have done while on bored. (sorry, couldn’t resist)

For example. I’ll use myself as an example.

I’ve been on Steemit for about two months. During that time I’ve written eleven teen hundred posts and comments. I’ve received umpty-ump votes. I’ve made not nearly enough money as a result.

The data is ALL there on the block chain and more. LOTS more. How many posts? How many comments? What was the average word count for each? How many votes for posts? Did long posts or short posts get more votes? Did long comments or short comments do better? Does the time of day matter?

Yadda, yadda, yadda.

Lots and lots of data.

But it needs to spindled and mutilated some to be of any use.

Graph it.

Something like Steemwhales should work. I like the way that’s done. It’s easy to internalize the data.

hmmmm.



Wild Ass suggestion here.

SteemWhales is two dimensional. The horrizontal axis is time. The vertical axis is value (estimated value of the account, it’s amount of steem, Steem Power, or Steem Backed Dollars in the Wallet. In the rewards tab is Posting rewards and curation rewards on the vertical...still time on the horizontal. Finally there’s the Social Tab with Reputation, Follows and Following graphed against time.

Excellent. But I suggest MOAH would be useful.

Forex.

Suppose $ was on the vertical account and time of day was on the horizontal? or perhaps word count on the horizontal? or number of images in the post? Or grade level which the post was written vs time it was written vs length vs,......

Get the idea?

Please?


Follow me @everittdmickey
Images from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37