'Following'

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)



Other people on Steemit
....................................................................................................................................................................

  1. The posts by the people that I follow show up on my home tab.
    No other posts do (I think). That's the criteria. If I follow someone their posts appear in home. They'll also appear in new for sure( I think) and possibly hot and trending. I don't have those figured out yet. I don't even look at promoted.

1.1. Posts that are resteemed by the people that I am following also appear in my home tab.

  1. As far as rewards (to me...$$$). It doesn't make any difference whether I follow a thousand people, or none. This is different from Tsu (a defunct social media site that also claimed to pay people to post). 'Follow me and I'll Follow you'. doesn't matter on Steemit.

If that's correct then it follows that I don't want any strangers in my home. If I don't know you, If you don't comment on my posts, If we don't have conversations or BS sessions...I don't want you in my home. I'll read what you have to say (or not) in new or on the other tabs.

I also have to LIKE you to some extent.

I'm an old fart. I don't play pretty with others. I'm former military, a viet nam ERA vet. (No stolen valor. I never was IN VietNam. I wasn't in combat precisely, even though I was shot at a few times ....they missed. I was next door in Thailand...on a bomber base) . I've been around the world a few times.. I LIVED in Thailand for a year like I said. I was also on the Island of Crete for four. When I got out of the military I 'homesteaded'...(ten acres)...raised critters (mostly hawgs, dawgs and goats), raised a garden, a boy and other stuff. After that I drove a truck....for damn near Three Million Miles. I've been over ever foot of interstate in the US and a BUNCH of the other roads, not to mention a lot of goat trails. (been to Mexico and Canada too)

What all this means is that I'm a grumpy old bastard. I know what I like and what I don't. I don't want people that I can't get along with in my home. So...if you're a 'born again' evangelistic gotta save souls kinda guy(or gal), if you're a conspiracy nut all worked up over chemtrails and other such nonsense , a GloBull Wurmer, a 'bot , if you've got your panties in a wad about the new world order, or the illuminati.....or (spit) you're a damnliberaldhmikrat...

Sorry...you stay outside.

For all of those reasons, and others, and I might change my mind and make exceptions...or not...that's MY call. THAT is how I decide who I will follow.

So far I've actually met a few. @mindhunter, @jeff-kubitz, @dragon40 to name just three. There are others.

When I first came to Steem I followed EVERYONE. (duh me..)...at one time I was following 1400 people. That's gonna change.

There's a purge going on.

So...nothing personal. If I don't KNOW you..and like you (kinda sorta) ...and we don't like the same things..

....you're gonna go.

Sort:  

You can always mute people you are following

I save that for EXTREME circumstances. I'm not saying I'm better or anything...I'm just not interested in what a LOT of folks got to say, and that's fine. MOST folks don't have much use for what I got to say. I'm using home as a filter for the good stuff, in my not so humble opinion.

We don't know each other, but I like spunk! You sir, have spunk!!

thank you.
I have a T-shirt my wife got me (she can't take me out in public much)
"Doesn't Play Well with Other's"

I love it!! I like people that I don't have to guess what their opinion is or what they are thinking! Just say it and be done with it! That is the kind of person I can trust and respect!

What I like about you, is that you're honest.
To a fault. And actually, that makes me want to read you.
In fact, @Denmarkguy and I were talking about you last night.

So there.

I take that as a compliment.
I'm not smart enough to lie...so I don't.

I am a Yankee who has lived in different areas of the US. There came a time when I realized I would rather be around a person who tells you to your face they don't like you rather than someone who "loves" you to your face and stabs you in the back. Best of all though is when the honest person likes you. :) Thank you for your down to earth posts. I've been following you even though it doesn't get me anywhere. Haha

speaking up and talking WILL get you somewhere...
sorry about the yankee part...are you better now?

No, I am afraid it is something you never recover from, just gotta deal with it.

You remind me exactly of my uncle...I read your post in his voice even. He's been gone 10 years now and this was something he would have loved to read. I may not get the follow back, but I'll definitely be following to hear more, like someone else said, I like the spunk!

thank you...if I 'get to know you'...I'll follow.
it's a 'monkeysphere' thing

Not sure I ever made the list brother lol.

i like

Excellent, pure sincerity. Congratulations.

Nice talk :)

I recognise your name from some of the climate stuff over on FB. Always good to find names I recognise over here - and to like what they're putting out is a bonus.

you found me out...I'm recovering from a serious case of FaceBookery...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42