You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit: A Platform About Content, SP Delegation or Daily Diaries? | Part 1

in #steemit15 days ago

I believe the interaction here is more meaningful than any other social media. We might not see 200 comments under a post, but those 5-10 comments we see scream the content has been read; it was relatable, and it was valuable. Just look at the engagement on this post. (:

There's all kinds of crap on Instagram and Tiktok that gets millions of views and money. In comparison to that, I believe Steem is doing much better as also shown by @o1eh (talking about the comparison with Reddit).

On conventional social media, the audience decides the trends. People post what gets more eyes. On Steemit, curators decide the trends. People post what gets more votes.

In my eyes, the answer is simple. If you want to see better content on Steem, creating good content is equally important to curating good content. I do that on a personal level. I'm not the best writer, but I try to do better than crap and I definitely don't read or curate or interact with subpar content. But since the quality of content is a highly subjective matter, nothing much can be done about it unless big accounts know what good writing is and support it.

Having said that, I also agree with some content being stale here. I'm very choosy about who I follow because I like to see quality on my feed. So, I usually forget about the lingering staleness that exists beyond my feed.

The Diary Game was a clever project that put some life back into the platform after the split. It has definitely gone stale and it's certainly not attractive at all for the outsiders.

But I do love to read a diary that is reflective and thoughtful. Some people know how to turn a simple diary into an interactive content. Also, I love Steem for its originality. I like to read personal experiences of real people, not some random crap of 5 ways to excel at XYZ or 10 places to visit in ABC when you haven't personally visited or have no real knowledge or experience. The online world is full of that content.


I was thinking aloud. Sorry for these unorganized thoughts. It's late here but I have been itching to share my feedback. I might come back again and share my thoughts on the rest of the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44