You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Attention STEEMIT Minnows: You Have Been Given A Opportunity And Trusted With Great Power - Start Using It Or You Will LOSE It

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Do you know that most of the minnows does not have a voting slider?
And they can give only 100% upvotes. So after 10-15 full upvotes they have 70-80% Voting Power and must take a break till next day. 10 upvotes only for the best friends...
It's easy to ask minnows vote more but if every minnow will vote more today, tomorrow will be no upvotes from minnows.

Sort:  

yeah.... i dont have a slider haha, i was like....what are they talking about !

eSteem gives voting slider for everyone, you can check it.

Exactly what I was going to say, but when do I get a slider on the desktop site? Is there a certain milestone that gives me the vote power slider? (sorry, just read it in the comment below, lol)

This is a massive point that I did not think of. Remind me what the minimal amounnt of SP you need to see the slider was again? is it 1000SP? I haven't used an account with less than 1000 since I had only 1000.

This is another example of how UX is biased against new users. The underlying platform provides vote percentage adjustment, but steemit.com does not. I am making an issue at the github: https://github.com/steemit/condenser/issues/1544

5 month here and only 350 SP and of course no voting slider. Get 1000 SP without donating is very long and hard process.
I wrote about this curation problem the next day after HF19 https://steemit.com/steemit/@erikaflynn/new-opportunities-for-minnows-after-hf19-about-voting-slider-esteem-and-minnowsupport-eng-ru
For myself I found the problem solution in using eSteem (it has slider for everyone). But not every minnow have a smartphone, so solution must be found here on Steemit.

@felixxx also told me that even if you were delegated SP, it is not factored into the calculation. I didn't get clarification from him about whether this was the steemit.com interface or on the blockchain.

HF19 was just the first step towards properly balancing the mechanics of Steem. We still have more changes required before this platform is 100%

That's steemit.com UI ... the blockchain accepts weighted votes from any account.

With little SP comes little bandwidth ... so small votes might not make a lot of sense, if you can only vote a few times/day due to bandwidth limitations.

I am glad I bumped your name and you replied to clarify that for me :) thanks.

Right, so this also is something to consider in implementing a way for the smaller accounts, perhaps even by relaxing the bias on bandwidth towards minnows, and making interface elements that explain the limitation on bandwidth.

As far as I understand the bandwidth limitations will change with the blocksize.
That's why I decided to signal bigger blocks, too.

I doubt that interface elements about bandwidth would be any good. Most users just want to use this thing and don't care much for the technology (at least the beginning)

oh, nice, I knew there was a good reason to do this. So now making 128k blocks is now part of our witness election platform :)

I just want to say a big thanks to you, you have been a very important person in my journey here.

likewise :)

Can you tell me, guys, how you know about mentions? Steemit hasn't such option and this is a problem for me.

Enable notifications in the steemit.com interface, it pops them up. You may miss them if you are not online at the time.

I got it at about 400+ something. I don't know the exact amount of Steem, but it is somewhere in the 400 area when the slider shows up.

I've had the slider since somewhere around 850 SP I think, currently 990

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32