Introducing Myself - MIT Student Obsessed w/ Crypto

introducing myself.png

Who am I? I'm just a guy trying to figure out my place in the world, just like everyone else in the world.

My name is Erick and I hail from Boston where I go to my favorite school in the world, MIT.

mit skyline.jpg

I blog for MIT Admissions. On there, I share my experiences and college advice with high schoolers and prospective applicants.

Blogging is my passion. Cryptocurrencies are my obsession. I never thought I'd get to put the two together. But here we are, one amazing innovation later. I had gotten into cryptocurrencies back into 2014 when MIT did an initiative to give every student $100 worth of Bitcoin. I tried to day trade my Bitcoin, which didn't work out well so I sold it all. Fast forward to today and, if I had held, I would've 8x'ed my investment.

image

I was determined not to miss out on an opportunity like that again. So I invested in Ethereum at $7 in March after seeing how it would allow anyone to build a blockchain based startup. Then I dollar-cost-averaged my way up until $400. All the while, I began immersing myself in blockchain, learning about the tech behind it while investing and participating in the most interesting blockchain projects I could find. On a warm summer night, one of my good friends introduced me to Steemit, and I was immediately hooked on the platform.

I've been on Steemit for two months now, slowly building up followers. I'm up to 179 and I'm thankful for every one of them. Steemit has opened my eyes to the incredible opportunities that exist with blockchain. Feels good to finally get around to posting, and I hope to make it a habit.

image

I do other things too, like coding virtual reality tools for my internship at Tekuma and helping kids become engineers and entrepreneurs through Tech 101 Kids.

I will do what I can to bring Steemit to the innovation hub that is Boston.

image

Sort:  

Wow awesome post !! :) Woud love to see more Your account was recently created so I thought I'd say hi and welcome you. This post deserves an upvote and full steem ahead! As you are new to steemit, getting those first upvotes are gonna be hard so maybe you want to try Steemfollower where you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I have also made this post where I explain the site in more depth and a great tutorial as well. Have a nice day and lets earn more together. Also, you can follow me with more updated posts :)

Thanks for the tips @goodv123. Steemfollower is definitely on my radar.

Welcome to Steem @erickpinos I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Welcome to steemit @erickpinos .., regards to know from me .., hopefully can support each other, show me your work .., i @rerycore will be present to upvote and follow you ..,

Wow sounds like you have a lot to offer the steemit community. I look forward to readinh more of your posts!

I am a big crypto fan too! Have you seen this? https://whaleclub.co/join/J290D

I have not but I will check it out.

hello @Erickpinos ;) Nice to see more people like you - here joining steemit ! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. ! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom !

Thanks for the encouragement, @khunpoom.

Cool. I hope you get to interact with Gavin. If I had put 100 into bitcoin when I first heard about it, I would have close to a million dollars right now. Doh! Good for you for getting in on Ethereum. Wise choice.

Well fortunately we're both catching the early ride of the revolution of Steem, thanks!

Welcome to steemit, ask your friends to design blockchain pocket size like cellphone lol. Followed n upvoted

Interesting idea, thanks @mountrock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49