You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: User Authority, Resteems and the Drop-off. Stop your friends from trying steemit.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

@nuthman, you address a problem which I find also very interesting.
I also have the impression that there are many doers but few spectators. The content providers themselves can hardly interpret, criticize, appreciate or applaud the many things done at the same time if they seriously pursue their art.

I don't know if this is going to change as for every newcomer counts: the moment he enters this realm the moment he becomes a creator and does not stick to a pure consumer status. Maybe that is why the talk about SMTs is such a hot topic (as far as it is understandable).

Here, I think, the encounters between audience and artist are determined by the very nature of the digital realm - it's the speed in which providing and back feeding can take place. It's fast and often furious.

If one would treat a comment like a hand written letter, putting it in an envelope, writing down the address, weighing it at the post office, putting a stamp on it, than superficial commenting would not take place in this high numbers. But as the effort is little, comments get retarded a lot. Guess, we must live with it. As well with a much more massive amount of superficial content and "providers". Selection becomes really a task.

Sometimes I comment on months old articles but the interest in doing so is not being encouraged because again of the speed. Which wouldn't hold me back, personally - but the bad structure of the blog itself is killing it.

From a Zen perspective one can learn here to let lose of old content and not being ashamed of repeating oneself. Funnily, though the content is blocked in the chain its nevertheless long "lost".

I am really curious about steemits future.

Sort:  

@erh.germany you make a fantastic point, and I love the comparison to hand written letters. I agree 100%.

On one hand it is great that we can quickly and briefly exchange ideas, but conversely it opens the door to a lot of laziness and carelessness.

I myself am constantly striving to improve my writing and grammar skills, as well as expand my vocabulary. The age of the internet, somewhat ironically I suppose, has put these arts at risk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42