This is why the Steemit community is nothing short of awesome and I am steeming it forward.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I need to tell this story, because I think this is a prime example of why the Steemit community is so awesome. And I think everybody should hear this.

See, I have heard it mentioned before. Even before I signed up.

Steemit has a great community.

image
image source

And since signing up, I have yet to see anything to the contrary.

I took it for granted. A stated fact.

Today though, I found out how awesome the community (and one member in particular) actually is.

The background


I had entered a pixel art contest here hosted by @jonny-clearwater
Now in my opinion, pixel art is an art of labor where every pixel location and color has been specifically determined by the artist.
So I labored on my entry, carefully laying down my pixels. moving them around to created animated frames.
It was a labor of love.

Shenanigans


Now when the time came to vote, someone else got more votes than me. No biggie, it's a contest, shit happens right.
But a reply to someone voting on the winner let me to think something was not quite right.
The winner (not deliberately btw) 'cheated' by using 3d software to render a pixelated animation.

So when then the winner post was posted, I commented on this fact. I cried foul (cause I happen to think that's an awesome sentence) and a comment stream between me and the contests host ensued. The result of that communication being that he agreed to 'sharpen' the rules, make it clear what is understood under the term 'Pixel Art' by posting a link to wikipedia.

an officer and a gentleman


image

And that's when he showed without a shadow of a doubt what kind of gentleman he is and the kind of people this community is built of. He actually send me a token amount of SBD as a consolation price. Never before on whatever Social Medium or forum or whatever would this have happened if you ask me. This is just beyond words.

Now I had but two options to do the gentlemanly thing as well.
On the one hand, I could decline the SBDs and send them back, because no one was to blame.
But I was thought never to look a gift horse in the mouth.
So I chose the other hand, where I converted the SBDs to steem, Powered them up so I can now steem it forward.
Anyone I upvote now has an extra backing of $15 worth of Steempower. It might not be much, but every tiny bit helps in my opinion, and so those SBDs are being put back into Steemit again.
When I have a decent amount of SBDs again, I will not forget this act and will do the same when a situation warrants it.


@jonny-clearwater, I salute you my good sir, for being the gentleman that you are. You deserve all the praise and browniepoints that you get.

ps. I also want it be known that I hold no grudge to whomever. Even the winner did nothing wrong and I hope he will enter the next challenge with proper pixel art so we can duke it out on a whole new level.



Full STEEM ahead my fellow Steemians

Sort:  

You know what... Powering up was exactly what I hoped you were going to do.
Paying it forward is such a simple concept and sometimes extremely difficult to act upon.
Powering up has allowed you to give back to many you cross paths with.
It is you sir that is the gentlemen!
Steem On!
Tips Fedora

It's always nice to live up to expectations.
A simple case of monkey see, monkey do ;)

I steem with you to infinity and beyond!

That gif though ... too funny.

Don't worry. I will :). All of this is way more fun than it should be. And with a community like this it's easy to give back.

I'm glad you got something out of it and I know you're going to do an incredible job on the next one.

Thanks. I hope so. Need to come up with an idea first though.

Keep on steeming on @eqko!

I will if you will !

That's the plan! 😃

Resteeming this for shameless self promotion...lol!

And so you should. Well deserved.

So out of curiosity, have the rules for the contest changed - or become more clarified so entries are created in photoshop only?

Personally I hate ps for doing pixel art.
But no, the rules haven't changed.
Simply added a clear definition of "pixel art" in the rules.

Cool story @eqko. @jonny-clearwater is a good guy, no doubt.

no doubt whatsoever.

You are both 2 great man. Happy to have you in the community :)

Thanks. I just hope to inspire people towards the same mentality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79