You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DAILY STEEM REPORT JULY, 1ST ★ STEEM 1.67$ + 2017 New Accounts

in #steemit7 years ago

Good question

The real reason is that users now have less votes (at or near 100%) 10 as opposed to around 40 prior to the HF19. So people are taking their votes and are using them to upvote the bigger Steemians who make thousands per post, so they can increase their rewards for curation. So when you had more votes to play with you could spare a few votes here and there for smaller posts to support the minnows but now voting is a luxury.

You could say having 10 votes at max VP doesn't prevent you from continuing to vote with less VP. But take into consideration that VP takes time to recover (more than 2 days if you're under 90% of Voting power). So users are trying to stay as close to 100 VP as they can. Hence they only use their votes (10 a day) to upvote the Big Fishes. That leaves us with less votes equaling less rewards for us.

It's not because people are voting for themselves since your own vote only gives you a few cents anyway if you're a minnow.

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW ME IF YOU LIKE WHAT I DO. @epico


Footer

Sort:  

Smart whales and dolphins are voting at 20 percent weight. This gives them 50 (rather than 10) votes per day before their voting power starts to decline materially.

Right we should all adjust our voting power to be able to curate and participate more efficiently. I don't have the option yet I'm afraid.

Right, I remember when I was new I did't have a slider, do someone know how many Steempower you need to have the Slider?

I know they're both related but it's given to you when you reach a certain amount of Vests, it was 1M before HF19 but they reduced to 600 and something or 400 and something I'm not sure.

You could adjust your votes, instead of 100% you use less....

Yes, once you get the slider yes.
You need to reach 1M vests first, I think they lowered that down with HF19 I think is 600 something now.

Thanks for your explanation. 10 per day is good to know.

You're welcome you can always check your current Voting Power in this tool created by @penguinpablo just check it out: https://steemnow.com

Yes I know that tool. Thanks. I just didn't really know about the amount of effective votes we have per day.

Oh yes it reduces your Voting Power by 2% every time you upvote. (2% of the current 100%) so 100 - 2% then 98 - 2% then 96.04 - 2% and so on.

Me lo dejaste bien claro. Gracias amigo :)

De nada. Steem on.

Right, I remember when I was new I did't have a slider, do someone know how many Steempower you need to have the Slider?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66794.56
ETH 3501.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71