You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Does Steemit count as commercial usage of content?

in #steemit6 years ago

I agree with you in all your comments, except this one point, which arguably is at the center of discussion.

And beyond all of this, why should my personal blog be regulated by the same laws as encyclopaedias, books and magazines? It's just my tiny hub, after all, where in any other site I'd just post collages and memes without thinking that I may be "violating" an author's rights (harsh word, ain't it? For a personal blog...)

I think as @maverickinvictus said, it doesn't matter if it's your personal blog or not. Monetization is where the line is. If you are making a lot of money using a copyrighted image without obtaining a license, then it will be a problem. Same rules as a commercial blogger. I don't think you can claim this is just a small personal corner of the internet and be exempt from the same rules as a professional blogger.

That being said, a lot of what you are saying is true-- there are certain rules that don't really make any sense, and it revolves around the "fair use clause" which I don't really know enough about and have been scratching my head around because for example: can I use a movie trailer poster? To me this should be an obvious yes, but there seem to be some set rules about sizes and such (too lazy to look up now, but there's a section in Wikipedia that tries to explain the rules here, and Wikipedia does not even have the same rules as a professional blogger due to its free nature)

Finally... For a source that you cannot properly attribute, I'm with @bogenschleif , I would document that it is unknown and that you tried the Google search with no good results, etc. I don't think you should be banned from using it. Also hilariously there's some sort of fair use loophole where you make derivative work or something... Though I don't know exactly how that works.

Sort:  

Got it. I think that I'd still try to debate whether what I'm doing is "commercial". I don't feel like it's commercial.

And I think that the fair use clause doesn't allow for derivative work unless there is a certain amount of modifications. I'm not sure either.

And you made me think of memes again. This meme:

Oh, no, there's an album cover, I don't have a license to share the album cover. By sharing this meme, I'm breaking the law! ??? What about the maker of the meme? There are all of these little nuances to owned stuff that make it really hard to ascertain what is proper use, what isn't, and why.

Oh no! In 7 days you're getting money! Good luck with the law :P

😂😂😂 Lol, so evil. I'll have to use the money for lawyer fees.

It's commercial! You are making money! Your blogs will be forever on the Blockchain and you are risking photographers issuing DMCA Takedown notices against Steemit, which is going to harm the whole Steemit community!

You will also be risking Small Claims Court action if Bill 3945 passes Congress! Photographers are very excited about this Bill!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54852.52
ETH 2440.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18