First Beefsteak Pick of the Season!

in #steemit7 years ago

Ok, so this year is my first attempt to grow this variety of this non-gmo tomato... behold THE BEEFSTEAK!!!!

20170620_185736.jpg

Ok, ok I also thought they were bigger too... however the size, it tasted wonderful! I first took a slice and ate it, then I used the rest to make a salsa. Hmmmm good.

Sort:  

Hi @engineerprepper, that looks delicious. We're just getting our first small cherry tomatoes, but nothing like that.

Hey, @pennsif The only thing I have done, was to feed the plants with a tablespoon of epson salt every 2 weeks. I was also surprised that they came out this pretty.

I've just learnt about Epsom Salts - I believe it adds magnesium to the tomatoes which they sometimes lack. Did you just add the Epsom Salts neat as the powder or did you mix in water to apply?

I just spreaded the salt on top of the soil a few inches away from the stalk. That way it will slowly with watering and rain get to the roots.

Thanks for the tip @engineerprepper - I'm going to try that now.

I'm jealous. I can't wait for mine to start. I've been craving home grown tomatoes all winter and spring long.

Looks delicious! Save some of that salsa for me!

Beefsteak! My favorite tomato, put it on a burger and there is nothing better...except for maybe some cheese and bacon, but veggiewise can't be beat.

Looks great! Can I have it? jk :-) following and up voted. Supporting fellow Okies!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59956.07
ETH 2524.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49