Best Steemit Resources Part I - DISCORD is a MUST

in #steemit6 years ago

image.png

Hurray! I'm on Steemit - Now What?

If you're new to Steemit like me (3 months in now), it's good to know what resources are available to you, what their function is, how to access them, and how to use them. I was lucky enough to have plenty of "how to" and "in your first month" Steemit and Dtube posts to help me navigate the Steemit universe when I first got started.

Unfortunately or fortunately depending on how you see it, many of the tips and suggestions in the articles I read just a couple months back are irrelevant or obsolete now. As a result, I made a ton of mistakes and lost time and potential rewards because of poor decisions based on bad advice. Therefore, let me suggest the best place I know to get the most updated, clear, and accurate advice - DISCORD.

If you're a gamer, then you probably already know about Discord. However, if you haven't heard of it then you need to get familiar with it quickly - like yesterday. It will help you in a number of ways to get your Steemit blog, Dtube page, etc. going in the right direction.

Reasons Discord is Fantastic

  1. Great resource channels - I won't give a plug to all the channels I use on Discord because I will be highlighting many of them in future posts in this series, but some of the biggies are Minnow Power, @MinnowBooster, @Qurator, @Adsactly, PAL, and more. Most of the channels and ALL of those I just mentioned maintain moderators that can help answer your Steemit questions. I can't tell you how many times I have reached out for help from these mods and they went the extra-mile to help me find solutions.
  2. Networking and Skill Improvment - Discord is my favorite place to discuss all things "Steemit" with other Steemians. In Discord you can make friends and contacts that will help you expand your network. Networking takes time and requires quality interaction with others. In Discord you will find like minded people on a variety of subjects to discuss and share ideas with. I'm sure many of these discussions will provide you with content ideas for future posts. Additionally, some channels like Steem School have great forums and classes on building your Steemit account.
  3. Post Promotion - Nearly every Discord channel that I belong to has a Post Promotion section where you can share your posts with others. Some of them, like PAL (Peace Abundance and Liberty) will even upvote your posts (PAL offers a small upvote every 48 hours). Others like @Qurator have a "tit for tat" system where you read, comment, and upvote someone else's post and then post your own. Then someone else will read, comment and upvote yours.
  4. Instant Messaging - You can create a "friends" list like other social media sites and communicate directly and quickly with other Steemians or even non-Steemians (these should be "soon to be Steemians").

Get Discord

Discord can be used on your desktop, browser or on your phone. It's free and very easily downloaded and installed. It even has some tutorial prompts when you first start with it (yellow exclamation points with hints and suggestions).

Here is the link for Discord: https://discordapp.com/

Want to know about and join some of the cool channels on Discord? Send me a comment or look for my next posts on the Best Steemit Resources for beginners like me.

image.png

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240
Discord - energyaddict

image.png

image.png

image.png

Sort:  

You got a 50.00% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @energyaddict22. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

nice idea dear @energyaddict22. you are going boost because your quality work
keep your work up dear @energyaddict22

Thanks @upvoter I appreciate your support. All the best to you.

How can I join discord to the steemit server?

There a lot of Discord channels for Steemit users. First, download and setup Discord. Then visit some of these communities: @adsactly - @qurator - @steemengine - @steemfollower - @minnow-power. That will be a good start.

Thanks for commenting.

Thank you sir I go for it

Unfortunately I will have to content myself to interacting with my favorite Steem authors here within Steemit. I have a major distrust of many sites now (deleted my Fakebook account several days ago) and given some of the stuff I read regarding Discord, Telegraph etc I just can't bring myself to join yet one more interaction service. It is telling that many feel that this site is lacking something that many feel they need to join yet another social site to deal with this social site.

Sorry for being a downer, I just wish everything you mentioned taking place there could take place here.

Hope you have settled back in home and got yourself acclimated again.

I totally agree. I wish there was a platform that functioned like Discord right here on Steemit. Perhaps there is and I don't know about yet. However, whenever I have problems like with delegating SP, curation rewards, etc. I am able to find very capapble people to help me out. Additionally, there is the ability to promote my posts and get some free upvotes, which is free money. Can't complain there. I rarely use FB anymore except to monitor my friends. I really like Telegram though because of the security. Since, I am critical of my own government and live in a country that is suspicious of me, Telegram is my favorite messaging app.

You're never a "downer". lol. I'm getting settled back in. Time to get some of my projects going again. Working on our BBQ catering business here in Piter right now and practicing on making "how to videos". Fun stuff. ;)

Congrats! This post was resteemed and upvoted by @postresteem!

Send 0.500 SBD or 0.500 STEEM to @postresteem with your post URL in the memo. Get your post resteemed to 7000+ followers and get a minimum of 25+ upvotes!

Want to learn more? Click here!

Good work...thanks.

Thanks. I appreciate it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EnergyAddict from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 36.54% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @energyaddict22! .

Join our team and delegate your SP to earn passive income.
Get part of 80% @mitsuko profit based on your delegated SP
Delegate 10 SP
Delegate 100 SP
Delegate 200 SP
Delegate 300 SP
Delegate 500 SP
Delegate 1000 SP

or custom delegation SP

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

holaa, me gusto mucho la información, muchas gracias por compartir tus conocimientos, me registre en discordapp y no se como utilizarla, ¿puedes ayudarme por favor?

Hello. Add me as a friend on Discord and I will send you some links. My I'd is Energyaddict#9726

muchas gracias, intente agregarte y no me permite mi usuario es yurita#7936, me puedes ayudar por favor @energyaddict22

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51