I think we need some space, My love letter to steemit

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I think we need some space, My love letter to steemit


~

Ok, So this is what the honeymoon period feels like. We’ve just been introduced and I honestly can’t stop thinking about you. This morning as I gingerly opened my eye’s you were the first thing to cross my mind. Last week I even had a dream about you, to which I awoke two hours earlier than usual with an intensified heart rate due to the excitement of seeing you again. Sometimes when at work I simply smile to myself as I ponder the things I plan on telling you once I return home. Ahh love, nothing can compare to that feeling when you know you’ve found the one. But as you probably already know, This overstated fantasy isn't aimed at another human being. Oh no, This is aimed at my new found love, Our new found love… Steemit.

Everyone know’s that one couple.

You know who I’m talking about, The ones that can’t endure pandering to each other every five minutes, even when they're with friends or out in public. I mean, I don’t have a problem with people showing affection, But let’s be honest, It can be quite uncouth when having a normal conversation and then suddenly they just can’t take it any more, As the magnetic force between them draws their faces ever closer like a slow re enactment of vicious car wreck. One minute you’re expressing your view on the state of the economy, the next thing you know you're sat in a public place watching your close friends swap bacteria. At this point you awkwardly advert your eyes to a blank wall whilst trying to pull your phone from your ridiculously small coat pocket. Then, Once they’ve finished cleaning each other's teeth, completely disregarding the fact that they’ve just palmed you off along with your arid topic of conversation, They just stare into each other's eyes as they whisper complements to and forth as If they’re starring in a sequel of the ‘The Notebook’. Of Course these little scenario’s begin to make you feel uncomfortable around them and eventually causes you to stop hanging out with them all together.

This my friends is how I’d choose to define the current state of this amazing platform and why I’d strongly suggest that we start seriously considering putting some space between ourselves and steemit, At Least in public anyway.

Should we stop making posts about steemit on steemit?

Now, I’m not suggesting that we stop posting stuff about steemit altogether, Just the stuff that doesn’t really have any relevance. An attractive girl writes a post about how she loves steemit and is rewarded over $1000 in steem, Someone else writes probably the 100th generik post about how steemit is competing with the rest of the crypto market and he’s handed over $500 in steem, Meanwhile another curator on the platform generates a genuinely unique piece of music, with profound and meaningful lyrics, which don’t actually have anything to do with steemit and is rewarded 8 cents, Thus he goes unduly unnoticed and his post is almost instantaneously buried amongst the hundreds of freshly baked steemit based recognitional disquisitions. 90% of the posts that make it to the front page of steemit are about steemit,
As a community do we really want this truly amazing platform to become inundated with posts about how great the platform is? Clearly newcomers can see that for themselves by simply using the platform itself. Take ‘Reddit’ for example, How often do you see posts on the front page concerning how much a certain individual loves reddit? Never! And that’s why Reddit is such a prominent site. Hundreds of thousands of people from all over the world come together to create one of the most diverse and interesting social media platforms on the web today, And this my friends is our most comparable contender. It’s time that we, as a community start creating and promoting content that is as compelling and enriching as the content created on other social media platforms. Content that not only encourages people to pop in and look around, but also inspires them to sign up and start creating their own content about things that matter to them, Rather than reverting to writing about Steemit in order to earn a quick buck.

The light at the end of the tunnel

Like all Strong and healthy relationships, I expect that Steemit and It’s community will eventually flourish into something far bigger and superior than any other social media platform today, WIth a highly active and diverse user base Steemit has the potential to become one of the main hubs of the internet, Pushing aside sites such as facebook and tumblr, and rightfully claiming the self proclaimed title of ‘The front page of the internet’ from ‘Reddit’.

If you managed to read through this whole post, I am sincerely grateful. I expect that this may recieve a few downvotes, but I assure you this is in no way meant to be an attack on steemit, rather my own opinion on what could make the platform better. Steemit is quickly becoming my favourite crypto project and I hope to spend a lot more time here writing posts... and stuff.

Thanks again for Reading.

endaksi1


- Image Locations

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BkotcF9CcAAqbyY

https://imgflip.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59