View count feature is gone. Why it was a bad thing?

in #steemit6 years ago

It was easy to exploit


Anyone could push view counts to absurd levels in a couple of minutes. See an example implementation boosts your view counts to the moon.

It was not a good metric to relate to post rewards. I know, some whales were doing that to use the flag button.

It was centralized


It was not a part of the blockchain consensus. All view counts are stored on Steemit's backend. That means if you view a post at Busy, Utopian, Dmania, Dlive, Dsound, Dtube, etc., view count will stay the same.


Here is related changeset on Condenser. Good job STINC.

Sort:  

I too wondered where it'd gone - there one minute, gone the next.

Yes, the counter could easily be artificially inflated, but rather than removing what some people really liked, it would've been so easy to update the website code to make it actually work accurately (i.e. where multiple views from the same computer/IP address weren't counted as separate views).

I fully understand why development of the blockchain takes so long, and implementing new blockchain-backed features too...but when it comes to simple updates to a website userface!? There's really no excuse why the Steemit website shouldn't develop/improve at a much faster pace.

A lot of [even some relatively simple] UI/UX changes could be pushed through, even A/B tested to vastly improve the website, and our collective experience.

I found it useful to get a general idea of the view to vote ratio on my own posts. That way I was justified when I got depressed when a post got shit for rewards.

Don't get me started on "blockchain" attributes not stored on the blockchain... This will be the downfall of Cryptokitties. Likes anyone? What a disaster that was.

I don’t know if you already read my invite to our newly created dolphins club , we are on telegram , we plan to help each other’s in many ways promoting good quality creation

A little bit of extra information for dummies like me, please. 🙂

I wondered where the post count went - I never thought of it that way I thought it was a good way to keep track of how many people were actually looking at your blog...

How i can choice you to be my witness?

This very good job. Thanks for share.

Interesting, I didn't know that it could be manipulated and didn't notice it's absence till you said something. Wait, STINC does actual work?

Removed from condenser 😂😁 @emrebeyler

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62