A look at dragonslayer's Hidden Gem Post REAL VALUE. Is there really any?!

in #steemit8 years ago

You noticed that dragonslayer's hidden gem post is trending at 1200$. Is this a reward for helping the community or a malfunction of the community?

Everyone is outraged that a guy like @dollarvigilante can make so much money, so much so that he got flagged into oblivion on a post because of the same outrage.
But we rally around dragonslayer's post like it's candy.

The way I see it a post has value if it's well written, bring something for the community, is funny, etc. There are A LOT of reasons for something to be valuable and be worth all those upvotes.
Let's try to find the reasons for that post.

His effort to unearth these gems. Yes, it is an effort, but aren't all people on steemit putting in that effort?
I confess I don't do much curating but I see a lot of posts about curators taking it very seriously, so is he getting golden stars for doing what everyone is doing anyway?

I'd even say, good for him if he at least, with his posts, helps those gems. But is he?!

Let's take a look at his picks:

gem#1 - 8.86$ [ bad? ]

gem#2 - 267$ [ very good, but also very difficult to even prove it wouldn't have happened anyway. Still, let's presume this happened because of his post ]

gem#3 - 10.44$ [ bad?!]

gem#4 - 10.13$ , 39 votes.

gem#5 - 188$, 188 votes [ this one I must say I read before but again, let's PRESUME that it's all because of being featured ]

gem#6 - 11$, 88 votes.

gem#7 - 14.40$ , 19 votes.

gem#8 - 12$, 88 votes

gem#9 - 16$, 56 votes

Let's count.

Presuming that all these posts were at 0$ when he featured them [ a presumptions I could verify in the blockchain but won't because it's too laborious ] he helped all his gems today raise:

537$

Meanwhile his post made 1200$!

What is the conclusion here?

Who's the real winner?
My conclusion is that the post serves him more than it serves the community or the people featured. I do not want to talk for those people, hell, i'd love a post of mine to make 10$ that it wouldn't otherwise make but I just feel it's wrong and backwards.

I have no clue what his real intentions are or if the purpose was pure but somehow got unexpected results but if so, I propose that fair would be for him to re-distribute a big part of the sbd profits to the gem-authors. Wouldn't that be a REAL benefit for the Community?!
If he just milks the gems without benefiting them all that much, then what's the real value in unearthening a gem, if the gem doesn't get to really shine?

Maybe I'm wrong.

You be the judge.

Sort:  

He did it so I wouldn't have to. I appreciate that and that's why I upvoted his post. I found a few gems in there that I never would have found on my own. That is a service to me. :)

If he continues to share gems that I also enjoy, then I'll continue to reward him for that service. If I notice that his gems no longer reflect my gems, I move on and find my own gems. He's put what appear to me to be genuine thoughts into the choices he made, so my intention is to believe him until he proves me wrong. Win/win as far as I'm concerned... :D

Congratulations @emperormollusk! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @emperormollusk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47