DAILY STEEM REPORT JUNE, 25TH ★ STEEM 2.11$ + 2281 New Accounts

in #steemit7 years ago

Bildschirmfoto 2017-06-25 um 05.40.08.png

Today I wanna talk about some security issues on the chrome browser, I noticed today there was a popup window with this chrome-updates.win/s.html ( do not try to open this! ) if you have the same stuff noticed lately, this is some serios stuff which
wants to get you passwords etc. I noticed it when I wanted to go to Bittrex and my login there ended with bittrex.... xyz or so,
be careful !

I found a useful link to get rid of it!

http://www.virusesremoved.com/2017/06/18/remove-chromeupdates-tops-html-redirect-as-soon-as-possible-with-provided-solution/

The first what I did, was erasing al my browser Data in Chrome, cookies etc. this helped so far....

And this helped me too: I was using Betternet!

https://www.tenforums.com/antivirus-firewalls-system-security/87488-infected-chrome-updates-win-phishing-site.html

Be safe!

Sort:  

Thanks for the warning. Chrome is a relatively secure browser but the fake ads can be really dangerous!

Any new about issues with Poloniex?

No news, but if you have some Steem in Poloniex and can't get it out, just sell em on the exchanger and send the BTC to Bittrex and but the Steem there again!

Yes i noticed this thing in chrome today as well, but i was unaware that this is related to steemit, i thought that i installed some kind of third party software which installed this malware, although chrome is warning people that this is a phishing site @elyaque

It has nothing to do with Steemit! Read the comments, the source have been found!

Right on time! Thanks @elyaque

Thank you for collating the data and sharing; it must take up so much of your time? Keep it up; a powerful insight!!

I like to spend my time here on Steemit :)

hi i thought i would show these figures of how steemit is stealing traffic from reddit
https://steemit.com/steemit/@newmarket65/steemit-is-stealing-traffic-from-reddit
follow me and i will follow you

Thanks @elyaque for sharing these important security updates...highly appreciated....

I was really worried about to get rid of it, but so far it looks like it's ok now...

Of course you love the time spent here. You win hundreds of dollars per post. Anyways no improvements it seems. This is sad. I have the notifications on chrome but I am not getting any problem being redirected to alternatives of bittrex. Anyways I will love to see all the users to have at least 2fa installed.

Do you have an VPN installed? I had the problem with Betternet VPN and another user her in the comments disabled as well an VPN service and solved the problem!

Yeah I read that after I commented. How are you? Are you fine? Lol i do so much spam today everywhere

I am fine, solved the problem.

Security is important, don`t visit shady sites and having a good antivirus and anti-malware software is a must. Thank you for bringing attention to us.

My problem was the Betternet VPN Chrome extention, can you believe it? something from what you think it keeps you even more safe is the reason for the problem!

Really ? oh my god. Just report it

Good news...

ty very much for the information!

You are welcome!

Security is indeed very important!! Must not overlook ! Great blog to keep us updated especially the newbies like me . Thank you!

Thanks,you are welcome :)

hi i thought i would show these figures of how steemit is stealing traffic from reddit
https://steemit.com/steemit/@newmarket65/steemit-is-stealing-traffic-from-reddit
follow me and i will follow you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15