My thoughts on steemit's potential and why I took the steemit leap.

in #steemit7 years ago

I've never had the money to be an investor, I've always depended on my income alone. Since becoming disabled even that has been shakey. I'm fortunate in that I do own my home and my needs/wants are few.

I find steem attractive because its a chance for me to apply myself and see real tangible rewards for my work. I see the potential for a secure investment , that investment being my work and my contribution to the community at large.

Oddly, I dont see the money as the key investment, not steem dollars, bitcoin, or any currency. What i see being the real strength with steemit is the community.

I cant wait until I'm able to give minnows a boost and tell them what I've done to secure my financial future through sheer refusal to give up after a week of frustration and only earning $.87 (patience bloody well better be a virtue)

Wall Street investments are not in my future, I'm not interested in enriching the already wealthy, or risking my meager savings to the whims of those who will still make money, even as the rest of us sink.

Here, I can grow, help myself and! help others reach their goals. Rewarding people who enrich the community is (as I see it) as important in the early days of steemit as filling my wallet.

I went to bed last night with my mind filled with the possibilities of how marginalized people and communities could benefit from using steem for employment and fundraising . Not only can steemit help financially, but it can also get those stories that MSM wont cover out to a wider audience, its a Win, Win!.

Yes, I'm here for the income, but, I believe that a rich life needs far more than money, it needs supportive community and a personal feeling of contribution to your community, that feeling of belonging to something bigger. I'm happier when I'm surrounded by happy people.

And!! I swear that I'm going to figure out how to post my profile picture and pictures in my posts by tomorrow! X my heart. Prepare yourselves for the unveiling. ;)

Be Happy my peoples. Life is good.(and getting better)

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit, @elleneastcoast!

What you mentioned is also one of the reasons I find steemit so attractive as well--the ability to produce content and be rewarded for it. You don't need $5000 to get started, you just begin creating content! Thats the awesome part.

Way to stay positive despite going through some physical issues at the moment...wish you good health going forward.

And also just wanted to wish you the best on your journey here!

Thanks for the comment, kccrypto. And the good wishes, I'm looking forward to what the future brings!

Congratulations @elleneastcoast! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks, steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50