The World of Cryptocurrency - WIF Recovery

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

KEY.jpg

Just last week, one of my friends who is our fellow steemian also, can't access his steemit account. Every time he entered his WIF, the message kept appearing that says "Incorrect Password". He is sure that he never change anything in his account and password but to his big surprise, he can't log in anymore. He has no idea if he was hacked or what, its just like that his WIF was changed without his knowledge. For a few days of observation, there is no activity or anyone controlling his account. It frustrates him so much since his $$$ was locked in his account and that was amounting to several thousand. He was searching for any support but to no avail he found none.

He shared this problem with me and from then on, we are both looking for a solution on how to recover his account. Since there is no support in steemit wherein we can ask for (or maybe there is support but we just don't know how to contact), we searched in the web - google, youtube & etc. But still, our effort doesn't pay off, we found nothing to help our problem solve. My friend now is so hopeless, he can only see his account from outside in a window and can't go inside it since he doesn't even know where's the door, LOL.

The Solution!

I just accidentally found the FAQ and open it hoping to find something in it that can help solve our problem. As I scroll down, I found the Security tab and in there, several sub-topics has been discussed all about security. I opened it one by one until I arrived in the "What should I do if I discover that someone hacked my account?" and it says:

If you made your account through Steemit and it is compromised, immediately visit the Stolen Account Recovery page. This link is also available in the main site menu. You will need to provide the email address that you used when you signed up, your account name, and a master password that was used in the last 30 days.

It is crystal clear now that we can recover the stolen/lost/hacked account in two important conditions:

  1. Your old WIF or owner key must be 30 days or less from the time that your account has been hacked or stolen for you to recover it and steemit.com can provide you with new WIF and send it in your registered email. More than the days specified will mean disaster with your account and it is impossible to recover.
  2. Your account was signed up via steemit.com and not to any third party website or the like. Steemit has the default recovery account for the users who signed up in their website steemit.com.

The step-by-step Procedure for WIF Recovery

1.) Look for the "Faq" in the steemit window and open it.

Faq.jpg

2.) Scroll down till you find the "Security" Tab and click the item "What should I do if I discover that someone hacked my account?"

sec.jpg

3.) Click the "Stolen Account Recovery" and the window will pop up asking for your Steemit Account Name and your old password that is less than 30days from the time your account was compromised.

acc recoer.jpg

4.) Enter the necessary data and wait for the new WIF or password that will be sent to your registered email. In my friend's case, it took 2 days before he receives the mail with new WIF in it.

log.jpg

The above procedure was the steps that I did in recovering the WIF of my friend's account and its quite long process, LOL. But there is a shortcut method and I just discovered it after we recovered his WIF, LOL. There is a link directly to "Stolen Account Recovery" just below the "FAQ" link.

acc.jpg

Hey guys, if you know someone who has the same problem with my friend, you can share this good news to him asap since there is a countdown timer along with it after the account password has been changed. When the timer hits zero and he still didn't make any action to recover his account then it will be sorry.

Footer.gif


Sort:  

@elizahfhaye, how about someone who signed up his account through steemit.com site, but he did not save his password or WIF. the account is longtime because he signed up in 2016. My question: "is there a solution?"

I guess there's no way we can retrieve it. In Faq says only a month old can be retrievable and more than that is sorry 😔

thanks for the information, @elizahfhaye

Thanks for spreading Steemit

Really informative post.....

great Post @elizahfhaye for contributing to better understanding of steemit

What a very important post and agreat write up. Continue spreading steemit

Your post is very important and amazing and powerful bro

Your post forced me to upvote, follow and comment. I love post with good information. Be reading you around. lol

What is the steemit account hacked? That's the big password I thought it would not be a hack. Then we all have to be careful. Thanks for the matter.



Hello Dear Steemian,


I am S.A.R.A.H. (Search Automatically High Reward Articles) Bot.

I'm an artificial intelligence that automatically looks for posts that expect high rewards. I recognize such posts, make my upvote on them and get a high Curation Reward. If you want to join in, you can hang on to my curation trail. You can follow me on Steemauto or on Streemian.

If it looks like this you are doing it right:



Let's maximize our curation rewards together!

Yours,

S.A.R.A.H.

You got a 12.69% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @elizahfhaye!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63527.41
ETH 3109.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86