Sort:  

It can be hard getting started. I don't make a lot at this, but I will say that I make far more in value from commenting on other contributor's work than my original stuff. The first couple months are the hardest and I would suggest that you stick it out. My best advice is to comment, comment, and comment some more. Comment thoughtfully so that you might engage the author. Also, if someone comments on your work, make sure to comment back. The first couple months is all about building relationships with other members. Trust me, I still have my frustrations with some aspects. One last thing, look for people that are having contest for free SBD, that can help build your STEEM power which makes you more attractive to other members.

It is not perfect, but the forum is evolving.

There are all kinds of contests. Photography, science, riddles, 2 or 3 lotteries, 3 or 4 different newbie mixers, guessing games, madlibs, write the next chapter, thanks for following, #contest is a great tag. Some can be scams just for your upvote, look at the reputation and wallet of the person before you upvote a new contest.
👆 This guy is right though comment, comment, coment. There are at least 2 bots that scour the blockchain for good comments that havent been upvoted and will drop you upvotes on quality comments.

.

To reiterate what @royaleagle said. Comment, comment, comment. My biggest author rewards have come from comments. Engage and respond and you will have such a better experience on this forum.

Thanks guys!! I think I'm getting a lead here. Besides you didnt upvote me😥😥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64