You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Self-voting user list since HF19 - PART 3 (potential comment abuse)

in #steemit7 years ago

I'm powering down, and getting whan I earn back out as quickly as I can. I even had made the mistake about 6 weeks ago, of putting liquid steem (1235) back into SP after being delayed 19 days by Poloniex.

I'm continuing to post and comment and vote here, as long as here still exists, but I'm no longer in any delusion about the sustainability of this platform, and I feel a strong imperative to quickly build a basic replacement that will provide for the needs we have all acquired by becoming accustomed to using this platform.

Hopefully within 6 weeks there will be a working forum, rewards system, and an initially non-rewarded base of servers running the software, and a basic web interface for the discussion and voting system parts.

I will be getting on the task within the next 24 hours. I don't think I can make any valid excuse not to get going on it now, even this sleep problem, I have to fix it right away. The same with the allergy problem I am having, which is probably connected. This allergic dermatitis I have at the moment is especially irritating.

Sort:  

I don't know what to say. It just pops the biggest bubble of hope in my life and I feel like I am drowning. Steemit was my last resort.

The doom still needs some time to fully play out. At least 6 months. Looking at what Randowhale is doing, (and bernie's other philanthropy projects) possibly he is putting a brake on the doom a little, I would guess that you can still make some income for at least 3-6 months here. I am not stopping posting suddenly, I just am not powering up new money I receive other ways, and I'm sending my surpluses into Dash tokens, which I believe will outperform all other cryptos during this next 6 months (not investment advice, just what I am doing, based on Dash's superior governance and the fact they may have a banking licence in the next 6 months).

You can still make something of steem as an author. It's just a terrible investment, don't buy Steem Power, likely you will lose. Only the pigs who are self voting comments, and sucking up to whales, who are diverting more than half of the rewards pool towards their arbitrary taste in posts - ie, cheerleaders and sycophants, who are blissfully ignoring the warning signs that something is wrong here.

This is why I don't earn big rewards, but I don't care. I used to be a cheerleader, because I believed in the idea. But the more I had to do with the software behind it, and the more I saw the character of the people with the biggest stake, the less reason I could se to continue to have faith in it.

Don't worry - you are not the only one who has a need for what Steem theoretically provides - a means to monetise content without copyright or intermediaries. I am trying to build a replacement that optimises everything, but even besides this, if you are interested, there is Alexandria.io, Ark.io, LBRY, and of course Synereo and Yours.Network, that may serve you better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62082.09
ETH 2434.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66