Posts on Steemit and Up or Down Voting?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Why is it that one day my post achieved $31.72 and then next day when I open steemit, the same post is marked down to $11.72? This happens to my posts often...

I am trying to understand how steemit works, thank you for your responses...

Sort:  

Really interested about this topic. Can't wait to hear more about, since I'm a newbie :)

I think part of it goes to the curators, and I'm pretty sure the amount changes depending on the market price too.

If that was the case then sometimes the prices would go up, but alas they only ever go down....

It has gone up for me, despite not getting more upvotes the amount goes up/down. Usually it goes down though, it has been for a little while.

Could be any number of reasons. Usually, the price of Steem has decreased. Other reasons could be a whale upvoted your post and then removed their vote, taking their monetary reward with them. You will usually never receive the full payout on the post because some is paid to curators.

I hear ya. I know the price of Steem dropped to almost $.18 this morning but it has recovered a bit in the last few hours. It seems very unstable right now. However, now is the time to BUY when it's low!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42