Q & A With Myself - About Steemit - To Or Not TosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

     I was recently on steemit looking at new posts. As I usually do when I have time to. Finding beauty looking at and past whales. 

Something came to mind though...  To Follow Or Not To Follow, That Is The Question. 

     I wanted to follow people. Thought to myself, how am I going to do this in a way that works best? My solution was to go into someone's followers (who had a lot) and start looking for people I may be interested in.

     Once clicking on names I found myself going from account to account for only a little while. Which started to seem like a long process because of no results. Yes, I could have just followed everyone that was listed there but I was thinking I wanted to find active people. Or people that wanted to be here for a long time. So clicking on the account and looking at activity was the only way I felt I could tell. After going through about 20 to 30 accounts I noticed it was a terrible idea. The most recent post someone had was 8 days ago. Most accounts were outside of 20 days. With many still at two months and four months of no activity. Only one account was at 8 days, I couldn't believe it. That was not worth continuing in my opinion. So came another question.

     If that wasn't going to work then what, and still WHO?

     That's when I seen an article about my first question. What works best? Well, they had some good points and interesting things to say but nothing significant on the topic. One thing mentioned though was about whales... hmm. People that have been successful and are currently successful on here. So came another question.

     Where do I find the whales to follow?

     Go figure, there was an article with many names. I started to go through those accounts. Anticipating some cool finds. A few minutes goes by and I seen two still active out of the ten I probably looked at. I really couldn't believe it. This is that moment when you scratch your head. Or face palm if you know what I mean. Is it my luck it just happened to work out like this or what.

     Anyways, I didn't want to ponder the idea or go through with an analysis of steemit not being good. There are many things I like and don't like but the most consistent thing in life is change. I can be patient to see if things change. Since I was talking about followers here I thought of something that can be changed or explored in that department. 

     My experience in not being able to find people to follow was rough. However, I can always find people so that's not the issue. I want to bring up. I have actually decided to follow those who follow me in the long run. Will follow through with this when the system changes. 

     Example.. I followed everyone already. When I did that, and the next time I got online. I see I have notifications. Thinking I have a reply to a post I go click on my profile picture in the top right hand corner. Well what do you know. Feed is lit up. I clicked on it only to find that it's in the order of what was posted last!? So we have no control over our feed!? We can't see what's hot, what's new, what's trending, from the people we choose to follow!? You click on those it takes you to the community!? Maybe I missed something but I thought I looked good. Anyways, I want to support people who support me in the long run. If I have thousands of followers and I followed all them back... I want to be able to filter their work before looking at or filtering the rest of the steemit community. Either way, change or no change. There should definitely be an option or button to turn off notifications when we desire. Like feed for instance. Being able to turn that off would be great. I'm the type of person that explores when in the mood. I don't like being notified all the time. Unless it's regarding replies.. but I bet other people may even want the ability to turn that off once in a while. 

     If you have opinions or experiences in these departments leave a reply. I'm sure more than just myself would be interested in hearing it.

Until next time, Thank you for stopping by!


Sort:  
Loading...


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89