You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You're Going To Use Bid Bots 🤖 Do It Right 👍

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Really enjoying the conversation hear. I would like to ask a question. What is, a quality post? I get what spam is, but it seams to me that “quality” is subjective. For instance, I’ve read over some trending, new and hot posts and personally did find them all that great. While others were, In my opinion, deserving. But that is really the question. Who determines deserving? Is it the “ Wisdom of the crowd”? If so, fine. In that case no matter how much $ or effort I invest my stuff will never trend, as it appeals to a very small group. Any thoughts? Please understand I’m not whining. I just want to understand how the system works, so I can make informed intelligent decisions.
Hey Scott, thanks for the intel. Really appreciate your efforts.
Ken.

Sort:  

For sure. I guess in my opinion as long as it isn't spam AND is in the right categories it is fine. That is my understanding right, but if I see someone posting about their dog in #crptocurrency that is basically spam. And yes maybe #steem and #steemit can be used for anything but for me it makes sense that posts in those categories have some relevance like a post about steemit or educating people on steemit or talking about the steem blockchain, you know?

I think I do. But to be clear what I think I hear you saying is that if a post is properly tagged and is using a bidbot properly, and the post is a “quality “ one, any post has the potential to hit trending or perhaps hot? If that’s true then I think there is cause for minnows to be hopeful.

Yes any minnow with a small investment can hit trending and end up getting their profit and their original investment back every time as long as you put in effort to your posts. Like realistically you should stay safe and boost your most quality value driven content. Like if I just post a picture on steepshot and write "This is my dog" and it's my dog and I boost it by 30 SBD it's kind of unreasonably that such a low effort post would be trending or hot. Keep that in mind. Because that's where it becomes an issue, when people think you shouldn't be trending and flag you.

can the bidbots cause unwanted bots to hit your posts and flag you for spam or plagiarism even though you're creating original content? I follow this guy who does quality posts of old Commodore games and he always has the bad content bot. its creating a chilling effect and making me reluctant to invest in steem if it's just gonna backfire and put my account into a blacklist for promoting.

It depends on the quality of your post and how much you promote. If you overpromote and people think you shouldn't be a top trending post they will flag it. It's largely relative and if you feel you're being harassed you can apply for flag abuse to have bigger votes counteract it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57642.15
ETH 2578.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49