To Steemit co-founders Ned Scott @ned and Daniel Larimer @dan @dantheman

in #steemit8 years ago


First off I just realized you posted your Linkedin profile addys so Im gonna accept your connection request BUT ONLY if its to your personal (real) profiles and not your public ones where you have over 50,000 connections….so as long as its your real profile just send me a private message and ill send you my profile addy so we can connect. 

If you visit the FAQ section you’ll learn that Ned Scott is the CEO and Daniel Larimer is the CTO of Steemit. That’s about the most direct, clear and concise answer to what turns out to be one of the only straightforward FAQs published in that section. 

With that said, since Steemit appears to be a commercial venture cloaked in a very social, friendly and “lets share stories ‘round the campfire” format, I feel as if I should direct this post directly to both Ned and Scott. And so, with all due respect - and lest there be any doubt I address the both of you with plenty of it - I have a few questions, comments and other things that you’re going to read since I’m just going to write you directly, without editing nor planning ahead, so the following is just a random Steemit person’s perspective - THAT HAS NOT BEEN SPELL CHECKED NOR CORRECTED FOR GRAMMATICAL ERRORS e.g., this very sentence running along, possibly jogging but as yet to stop for a breath so as a run-on sentence it’s running quite well...which is the purpose of a run-on sentence,ain’t it? So one quesion that pops to mind is what the heck is Steemit really about?
BTW, Ned and Daniel… since Steemit has yet to have a Gazillion and one users (which I honestly wish you the best of luck in achieving your goals).... 

But until then im thinking (hoping?) that you might just actually get to read this note for yourself and irf you do I’d be honored and you’d get some unfiltered insight from a non-professional Steemit beginner who loves pocket-watched (and sharing random info too) and whose not here to make money (which I’ll mention later, i.e., as far as I can tell this isn’t a feasible method of earning income - which I would gladly do if i thought or knew how to do it - except for the very few people who do generate income…

,,, whom I imagine to be a part of a network of people who share some common attribute(s) or have other common interests or stakes and that group is set in stone) while the rest of us can’t really earn anything substantial which is fine by me since I’m here ‘cause my brother told me about this site and I enjoy reading and writing and money too, but for that I have a day job so I’m really hear for the experience and by that i mean posting and reading and just having fun...


By now i forgot my own first question so went back and copied it again since you probably forgot it too...since clearly once you started reading this you said,”Hey Flora, hold my messages and clear my schedule for the day ’cause I got something important to deal with!”BTW, Flora is the name I gave your assistant and for the sake of brevity I merged the two of you into one person.Also, BTW No.2 is Flora deserves a raise - give her5 metric tons of Steem, please… but dont ask me how one measure the weight of Steem...


So, as for my question about what this site is all about,,,I’m not looking for the standard answer people are repeating which is to earn money through content since that’s an answer repeated from one person to another yet I haven’t heard it come from someone who has actually earned a profit… 

and while we’re at it let’s say someone who has earned a profit reads this and says, “Umm, you, dude, you’re sound foolish and ignorant ‘cause here I am, the very person you say does not exist, a person whose earned profit from publishing content on Steemit!” 

“Congrats!” is the 1st word outta’ my mouth followed by, please explain what that profit consists of ‘cause as far as I can tell it’s not some tangible form of currency but a virtual version of a tradeable asset that I and what I assume to be a substantial amount of writers non Steemit, have no means of gauging its value therefore making it no more nor less than any amount of value I choose to give it… which makes no sense especially since I was told the rules have been changing therefore even if I did understand how to value Steemit currency it wouldn’t matter ‘cause the system changes without explanation (as far as I can tell) so why take the time to figure things out if what I figure out will be pointless info sooner or later?


So Im going to end this post now because, well… Im hungry and youre itching to answer me… so if you dont answer in time i might just ask another question or post something that has no relation to this but whatever I do I’ll have fun doing it which I guess is one way to measure value, ain’t it?And for the record if youre not Ned or Daniel but you have an answer by all means educate me… but be ready for a follow-up question if one comes to mind as well as a possible fictitious charachter I create to liven up your life.


Cheers   

Sort:  

As a literary exercise, although it lacks quality, is valid, continues to try to deepen your subject, and it is not that plans is that you know how to express in writing your concern.

are you concerned about steemit? what are your concerns? I didnt write this as a literary exercise... at least I didn't intend to... however i just posted a story about a cure for cancer that never was.... that was written as an exercise in fiction, the issue is i dont know how to tag i and id love to get people's feedback on the writing, Any tips for exposure and feedback? If you get a chance will you tell me what you think?

It is obvious that the article you wrote shows other concerns different from the literary, but it seems literary material, but if you want to know that it is Stemeet you should read carefully your white paper there you will find answer, you must also deepen your concepts about the chain of blocks (Blockchain), on the other hand if you need a label that you do not see in Steemit you must create it and insist on it to build audience, thank you.

Thanks for the good article

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63