Introducing Myself, Un Jíbaro Del Monte

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This has been on my 'to do list' for a while now, to publish my first entry here on Steemit and move beyond as just a sideline observer. Of course, as well as the intention was, it hasn't managed to come to be until now.

While an observer, I've often thought how great a tool this was. I only wish I had been introduced to this much earlier, some three years earlier to be precise. At that time I would have found myself on my native island of Borikén (a.k.a. Puerto Rico) while I documented my trials on Tumblr (jibaro-manicato.tumblr.com) in resurrecting an old family farm. Filled with an abundance of labor from years of inactivity, I decided to settle in what was left of a well aged house to collect my own water, solar energy and organic produce. An adventure far removed from the life I was familiar with back in Connecticut. Certainly a memorable and valuable life experience. To me it felt like being home away from home.

As it does today, more so now that I am back in Connecticut during a time of great crisis back on the island, unable to physically lend a helping hand to my friends and family after Hurricane Maria devastated the island. There is great urgency at the moment to spread awareness to the world to what is happening in Puerto Rico in the aftermath of the storm. There is a humanitarian crisis at hand being amplified by bureaucratic roadblocks, a colonial government unable to handle the situation and an empire putting together a poorly ran show.

At this point, many people have seen what has happened but there is so much more that is not being reported by the mainstream media. In the following days I will do what I can to share information I gather on developments from the island as well as links to grassroots relief groups for those interested in helping out.

Any money earned via this channel will be directed towards the purchase of water filters, solar charging kits, seeds and material that will aid in the rebuilding efforts.

As for my presence here on the Steemit network, I look forward greatly towards contributing on a wide range of subjects and personal interests as well as engaging with the community at large.

Sort:  

Make hobbies of posting whatever you feel free to write just share your knowledge.... Steem is all About building healthy community.. Welcome to to steem community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63