Steemit has ads now, a rant I wish I didn’t need to be having

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit biggest asset has always been the absense of ads. That era is now over. This means that in this attention economy, the platform treats our eyeballs in a way that is no different than any other centralized corporation. Honestly I knew this was coming but I had a glimmer of hope that there was a chance it would not happen. Obviously crypto has the potential to be a store of value and nothing else. Not one extra bit of anything else. There was a window for Steemit to become a parallel economy, for people to turn Steem into a currency all on it’s own but then again, I’m probably just fooling myself. It must have been fated that Steemit INC would enslave countless hours of dev volunteer work and donated server space in order to sync the capitalist dystopia that has generated countless reality shows that we are supposed to want to keep up with. I am devastated and feel like a fool to have made my home here, a place that is now no better than FB or Instagram. I think that if it was between this and shutting the whole thing down than they should have shut it down, I am sick of being advertised to, if businesses want to pay us to promote them on our blogs fine but the systematic intrusion of adds and at a rate of 1 for 10 posts at that is outrageous and is exactly why the crypto market is doing so poorly. Honestly I am so angry, I am besides myself.

71CEB58D-B5A2-4F3C-BA23-286131A63873.png

Sort:  

Just use the brave browser and you won't see any ads again. The lack of ads speeds up the internet, it's great, try it out, it's like a breath of fresh air !tip

WTF. What are we Facebook now over here? I haven't seen any ads yet but then again i'm just now back. Complete bullshit. All the major coins seem to be sitting steady but low af , its a scary time for cryptos, yet so many issues could be solved with a wider audience adopting and using cryptocurrency but instead we'd rather have worthless paper not backed by gold and cut down all the trees and kill the bees.....
Ok i just made an unintentional rhyme but you get it. This post deserves more Attention, rsteemed

Funny enough, right after posting this the ads disappeared 👻
Google are you listening?

Im not saying that word out loud or typing. WtH

So far I haven't seen any adds so my guess is that I'm outside of the target area or Goggles is tired of dealing with me.

You’re a funny one, I can tell! loving it!

I wasn't kidding, see screen shot below:

Screenshot from 2019-01-22 10-53-26.png

This is great. It was the much needed revenue source for the betterment of the Steem Blockchain, with the current crypto crash, Steemit Couldn't afford to Keep Up with the Expenses, Remember the 70% lay offs a few montha ago? If they had done ads from the word go, they probably wouldn't have had to lay off staff. I have nothing agaist this, I remember so many people pushing for this when the lay offs happened, glad they listened, for once!

Also, the Ads were/ are supposed to be on the trending page or sth, so, they will not be in our face unless we visit that page, which is okay dor most.

the screen cap is directly from my own blog feed.

i get ads on the mobile app of steemit how do i stop

adblocker? Works well..

🎁 Hi @edouard! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @cryptothoughts!

Check out @cryptothoughts blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Use another app besides Steemit.com. You don’t have to use it if you don’t agree with ads. Plenty of good apps like @steempeak, @busy.org, @partiko, @appics, etc. that are ad free. That being said, Steemit Inc probably should have done ads from the beginning based on laying off 70% of their staff.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for mentioning us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93