You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dolphins and Minnows get more influence

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm really happy seeing these results! I was in favour of the experiment since I think we shall create the best foundation to Steemit as we can make, and testing different models is an absolute must to achieve that. Once we have the strongest foundation we can create, and implemented, we are ready to grow Steemit in terms of number of users.

With HF17 some more changes will be included to which some of us do not agree with, hence HF17 is not implemented yet. On points like removing the limit of number of posts, introducing split of comment pool from general reward pool, I think we need to test this. I commented earlier today to a post of @pfunk you may be interested in reading:

Sort:  

I am all for trying out new things as long as there is a clear goal or roadmap for what we are testing, its purpose and what we are trying to achieve with it. At some stage thought the platform has to mature and come out of beta. I am worried if we keep trying out things we will never get out. I guess I am just getting a bit impatient.

I understand you completely!

I'm just a bit more than 2 month with Steemit; But I did see a lot of imbalance, and we do not have enough knowledge gained over the last year to understand what a GOOD implementation of the basic rules are. I would think many tests would already have been executed in the last year, but so far I could not really discover a solid plan and execution behind it. What I do know, when I came on board as an active user, I was so happy a guild help me out from time to time, otherwise I would have not been here anymore (it had nothing to do with the rewards itself, but there was just a small group of users who got all the attention and rewards, so it looked at least to me). Another reason I'm still here is that I really like the fact the we can work as a community respecting each other and trying to work together to make Steemit a great place to be, like the Whales finally pulled it of to work together in executing the No Whale vote experiment, knowing not all were on the same page. I appreciate that really much!

Now we have the HF17 as an issue with Witnesses not agreeing to the changes as implemented. Lets see what comes out of that and how this one will be progressed, but around HF17 a lot of theories are posted, but I didn't see practical test results. Since the discussions around HF17 are mostly regarding the basics of Steemit and Steem, also these need to come out of theory and put into practice through tests, and based on the results define what works good and what shall be trashed. I cannot wait to see Steemit to come out of Beta, like you, but lets get out of Beta when we get the basics right!

I agree 100% with your comment. We are where we are as the saying goes but we need to sort out the basics and I hope get a bit for forward momentum going.

Interesting conversation here and I agree with you very much @edje

We seem to be on the same page, post HF17/18, vote value has disappeared and there is no communication. Why do HFs not have Alpha as the goal and step in linear formation (mistakes will be made) towards that objective? Upped and followed!

I am hopeful the value will reappear over the payout period. It would be great if someone could confirm this.

I have suggested to @timcliff (whom I admire very much for his candour and willingness to front up and communicate when things like this crop up) that an explanation of the rewards pool and voting from yesterday and for the next seven days and then onwards. It looks like the budgie cage as I call it, the scraps which are so small that they do not register, will create another bonanza for the SP owners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60578.94
ETH 2625.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54