One month without cigarettes.

in #steemit8 years ago

It's been one month since I've put down cigarettes cold turkey. I've been blogging on steemit since day ten of not smoking, and have been overwhelmed by the amount of support that I've received from our steemit community.

It hasn't been easy. Some days have been better than others, but I'm determined to kick the habit for good. I've spent twelve years of my life smoking cigarettes everyday, and I had no plans of quitting. I'm a healthy thirty year old male, and have always tried to make the right choices for my body when it comes to food and exercise. It really seemed counterproductive to be healthy and continue to smoke, but I would tell myself if that's my only bad habit I'll be ok.

On July 9th, 2016, I woke up, and knew something wasn't right. My body was tingling and sore, and I barely had energy to move. I forced myself to get up, and put some clothes on. My wife was in shock when I asked her to drive me to the doctor because I never ask anyone for help. When I arrived at the doctors office my temperature was 103F, and the doctor mentioned admitting me to the hospital if my temperature didn't decline. I was given Motrin, and the staff continued to do tests and x-rays on me. My temperature did drop to 101F, but I was diagnosed with lower left lung pneumonia. I was forced to take a week off of work, and honestly it was the best choice.

My lungs felt like they were on fire, and I couldn't even dream of smoking a cigarette. My first three days of recovery consisted of sleeping, sweating, and breathing treatments. I never thought I was going to get my energy back, and was in a lot of pain. On the forth day I finally made it out of bed, and felt decent. I walked through my house just happy to be able to get out of bed with a little energy. I had a full pack of cigarettes sitting on my bar, and I hadn't smoked since the day before I was diagnosed with pneumonia so out of habit I grabbed them. I headed to the front porch swing, and held the cigarette in my hand to light it. Something felt different this time though. I didn't want to light it. I truly think my body was rejecting the thought of cigarettes, and I listened to it. I threw away that pack of cigarettes, and haven't looked back. I started blogging about my journey to stop smoking since day ten on steemit, and today feels like a big accomplishment. I know it may not seem like a lot to some people, but a solid month without a cigarette for me is a big deal.

I would like to thank the steemit community for helping accomplish where I am now. I've received so many encouraging words, and good advice! Also, my family and friends have been more encouraging than I could ever imagine, and most of them are smokers. It feels great to be smoke free, but I have gained around 5lbs in the process. I actually started a raw vegetables and fruit diet yesterday that is suppose to help heal the damage I've done to my body, and help manage healthy weight. Once again thanks for the support! Take a look at my other blogs on quitting cigarettes if you would like!

Sort:  

Congratulations, I could not mean that more sincerely. My wife and I also stopped cold turkey at the end of May. My parents have both had their lives cut short from smoking, and it was the final nail in the proverbial coffin for both of us, I think. I wrote a story about their last day at home if you want to check it out.

Really, congratulations, I hope you continue to get all the support and acknowledgement it takes to continue.

Thank you! It means a lot! I read you're blog! Wow! I gave it an upvote!

Hey, thanks. I'll check in on your progress!

So how's the no smoking going? Hope you are doing well.

Congratulations! I can't do it. If I quit I'd have to stay away from the computer for a while. This is where I work and tend to have the most stress. :( I have successfully cut down. Quitting is going to be iffy.

I promise I was in your shoes a little more than a month ago. I was never going to quit. Honestly nobody could ever convince me to stop, and it wasn't anybody but me that made myself quit! You'll get there if you truly want it! Thank you for your support! I will say it's amazing how strong the human body is.

I love stories of victory over some bad habits. Smoking has never been my thing but I have known people who had the same struggle. Sometimes it takes a serious situation to realize that things have gone worse.

I would love to see more of your blogs. That's why I'm FOLLOWing you.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@cjclaro/steemit-culture-to-follow-or-not-to-follow-that-s-the-usd15k-question

Thank you for your support! It means more than you can imagine. I also enjoyed your blog about following. I returned the favor of an upvote, and I'm now following you too!

thanks! looking forward to your future posts ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29