I went through 25,000.00 USD in the first six months in my transition from corporate America to entrepreneur.

in #steemit7 years ago

In December of 2016 I decided to take a leap of faith. I had a comfortable corporate job that paid a handsome salary, but I found out quick that money isn't everything. I was at the point of depression, and I knew I had to chase my dreams of working in sales. I put in my two week notice, and the company was in disbelief. They tried to negotiate with me to stay, but I declined the offers. My mind was made up, and I had to go.

My fist job was working for a termite and pest control company that was looking to grow. I talked with the owner, and he wanted to open another shop about an hour away that I was going to manage. I was told that I would be on commissioned based sales until he found the new shop, and got everything it needed. I had prior experience in the industry so I already had my certifications that were needed.

The first day I hit the phones like a mad man! Calling on anyone I knew to sell them my products. I ended up making around 1200.00 USD, my part, in the first eight hours of my new career. I was on cloud nine! I closed out a few more deals my first week making around 2300.00 USD in my first week. It was obvious at this point I made the correct choice.

Week two of my new career was a true eye opener. I was told that we were under staffed, and I would have to train a new hire. I objected because this would take away from my sales because I had to spend 8 hours a day training a new hire until she passed her certification test. He made it clear that there was no other choice, but assured me it was for the better of the company because it needed to grow. I was put on a 2000.00 USD a month salary, and was offered 10% commissions on everything I sold. The problem came in because I couldn't dedicate myself to sales, but was looking at the bigger picture of owning/managing my own shop. So I dipped into my savings, and assured my wife that everything would work out.

After two months of nothing changing I called a meeting together with the owner. I let him know that I have to go back to strictly sales. I couldn't make the money I needed to survive by training employees, and also his business isn't growing because no one was working on sales. He let me know that there was no other choice, and he wasn't going to put me back on sales. He also let me know that he's not going to invest in another shop anytime soon. If I didn't like it I could find another job.

I was blown away in disbelief! I had promised my wife that this was the right call. I had kept my bills paid with 25,000.00 USD I had in savings, and it was almost gone. I truly didn't know what I was going to do, but I knew giving up on my dreams wasn't an option. I started searching for a new job in sales, and ran across a true business man that I'm still working for right now, but I will save that story for another blog.

I almost lost everything I had including my wife. It's been a wild ride, but a necessary one. I'm currently working a commissioned sales job, and doing great. I haven't completely caught back up, but I saved my marriage, caught back up on most of my bills, and finally found a great sales job where I can do what I love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51