Originality of thought - where did it go - tomato ketchup!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I read a lot of posts - probably too many.

One thing that sticks out like the proverbial dogs balls is copy/paste .... I really mean it!

Vote hunting is probably just as decrepit in my eyes as plagiarism!

If you want votes, you should be in politics.
If you want steem, do it well! Write good stuff that is challenging, insightful and betrays your true self!
Real people should stand up for this
Vote hunters ... understandable for original writers involved in 'social media' - to the rest: titty bars are more your thing, aren't they?

Otherwise go back to Facebook and gorge on pap!

The next person to write about the relative values of tomato ketchup .... do find your own rock!

I do hope it was an experiment to see how stupid everyone is!

Pinball Wizard - great track. Listen whilst we move along!

If you want to do well on steemit, write shit - copy whatever you can, do it 4 times a day and hope
Throw a few pics from Pinterest in there - she'll be right!
Learn how to vote strategically, learn not to say anything about value ... or tomato ketchup because the auto votes make you look more of a prat than you realise!

Why is shit rewarded so highly?

Does not reflect well upon the whale/dolphin community
Yes it is a steem power game; but please try to do it well.

By the way, if you have just joined this thing, the people with the muscle did do something but not that much. However they see fit to value you to the tune of several thousand times less than themselves. Interesting for a platform which was designed on equality of access

Happy Christmas to the Power Elite - start writing something decent. Copy/paste should be banned!

And when the truth comes along ... about 40 votes for 3 posts of integrity hardly comparable to about 230 votes which contribute to Fake News do they? And the same people dare to rail against fake news against the usurping of power by the elites of Washington.

This system is a multitude of times worse!This is not social media. This is the Feudal System with pretty promises and the shut down upon a brain. If you want to be taken seriously, stop patting yourselves on the back.

Telling the world what a huge risk you took - lying wankers. Do you think the world does not know why 120,000 subscribers equals about 4,000 active users including your auto/intra-voting systems? Including your multi-named accounts.

You are not that bright!

Ned and Dan might be bright but their cohorts are ensuring the failure of a really good idea.

Such a pity that greed has arisen from a very well intentioned and very ethically driven group!

Sort:  

With time it started to become obvious. As a noob, I didn't understand well enough. I heard this same voice in your comment on my post few days ago. Like you said there, at the very end, who is one? It starts to get obvious that voice on steemit is steempower.

And when you start to understand the extent of the rort ... why are at least half the people being supported by the guilds designed to redistribute steem ... in the power elite? it is a game. It has nothing to do with content, though they will tell you it is! The BIG LIE, how Germany was lulled in the late 30s and 40s.

I really agree with you here. I am a huge fan of Dan and Ned and Steemit, but the glaring thing is this problem you've described. What really discourages me is that it is fixable. It doesn't have to be based purely on steempower. You could give accounts that have a certain rep - say 60 - the ability to give a full fledged upvote. This has been mentioned to Ned, but he just focused the discussion on curation guilds. That really makes the users have to try to fix a fundamental flaw. Ned also talks about the sybil attack but if you had the rep requirement high enough, that would not be an issue.

I really appreciate your reply! Most people have the backbone of a gnat and just shy away. Unfortunately, that is not me. When I see the scale of what is going on I just have to scream.
This makes Washington look like a picnic. 80% of the power is held by the top 67 account names (albeit including Steemit). Excluding Steemit it is 184! So, if the top accounts with all the power vote for each other , the distribution is a non-starter! And those marvellous guilds - have a look at the names! About 50% whales!!!!
Joke.
The other day I wrote a piece about fake news. Then a whale writes about the same topic and fucks up.In the most conciliatory fashion I pointed this out. Did I get ONE vote? No, just get told I should check my facts! My reporter in Aleppo versus her corporate scribe in Washington ... hello! No apology, no vote. Just the arrogance of ... who the fuck are you?
Well, I happen to be someone! That whale happens to have shown themselves to be bigoted, ignorant and arrogant.
I got about 40 votes across three posts showing the truth. What does whale do? Sweet FA! This is not social media. This is GREED and hold GREED.

I have been asked to assist with the news channel but fuck me ... why should I ? If fuckwits are at the top I think starting anew might be a good idea. I know my stuff.

If you want to keep a good thing down, as they have actively done to me ... I used to work in digital and I know the World Web Forum ... Steem ... could be worth a crock of shit with this lot.

I feel sorry for Ned and Dan - a great concept is being smashed up by a bunch of seriously egotistical arseholes

It is really frustrating. It could actually kill this awesome idea. I think it has been a huge part of the problem with user retention.

Mate, it is way worse than you think - and even worse than this which might give you a bit of a shock - well it should!
Post A: Number of upvotes: 473
Potential payout: $0.12

Post B: Number of upvotes 65
Potential payout $0.00

Post C: Number of upvotes 18
Potential payout $17.14]

Post D: Number of upvotes: 60
Potential payout: $525.58

These are all absolutely accurate and I have the precise urls.
Who the fuck do they think they are?
I have over $1200 sp and a rep of 61 - my vote is worth less than a cent
There is no meritocracy here
I have more ...

I feel like I have a grip on the seriousness of the problem. Pretty serious if it could kill this platform

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62