SteemIt Tips for Beginners

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I’ve been writing and commenting consistently on SteemIt for just over a week (since my hiatus) now and I’ve come to few conclusion especially if you are new or don’t have a big following. I’m not going to tell you anything that is going to make you an overnight success but just the little success that I’ve had recently.

1) Commenting

This by far has been the biggest part of my time back on Steemit and also probably my most profitable. I’ve been reading whale, dolphins, and minnows and giving commentary that shows that I’ve actually read the content that was posted. Therefore, “Good Job”, “Follow Me”, “Nice Post,” and so forth DO NOT COUNT. I’m going to assume, based on of what I’ve seen, that these comments go largely ignored by the vast majority and show that you’re not truly trying to engage with the poster.

2) Competition

Looks for competitions, if you’re really good at something this could be a good way to get your name out there. It is also a great way to find plenty of other people who have the same interest as you.

3) Formatting

Okay, honestly, I don’t know how much difference this truly makes. However, I know from my personal opinion that certain post are difficult to read for me due to formatting. Huge walls of text with no PICTURES make the content look boring and probably won’t hold the audience attention. For instance, some of the syntax that I really like to use that I don’t see that often is where you able to place a photo on the right or left and have the text wrap around it.

Example for the image to the right “Tutorial” below is the syntax for how I placed it on the right side.


<p>
<div class="pull-right">
https://steemitimages.com/DQmV6YeZzt4jym3GtuHQa9Kt2aXLkCAuva77c4KcWSoqxUG/tut.png
</div>

If I were to change pull-right to pull-left the image would instead be placed on the left with the text wrapping around it.

4) Don’t be scared to ask questions

I’ve never had anyone get mad at me for asking for asking a question her. I’ve always tried to figure it out on my own first. However, there is a time when SteemIt is just too hard to search for certain types of information. The types of questions I’m referring to asking help with some type of formatting that isn’t on the markdown guide. If you ask about that I’m sure you’ll get help. But if you ask someone to follow you then be prepared to be ignored.


Follow me @dzboston33


Photo Credit
Photo 1
Photo 2


Sort:  

As a newcomer, thanks for the tips!

You're very welcome, hope that it was helpful!

I've been on steemit for a while now but didn't do much really, missing out i think, i am overthinking everything i guess, this post will help me getting involve as there are so many thing that i love and i see great content in here, i am going to learn a lot.

Thanks for the post! This is very simple and easy to understand despite steem being so complicated!

Of course, I'll write a more in-depth tutorial at a later date

How did you get to level 63 in a week? That's amazing. Also are competitions found just my searching the competition tag?

I've been here longer than a week. I started about 5 months ago, but I had to leave the site for about 2 months for personal reasons.

Thank you for the informative post!
I upvoted and resteemed your post to support your work!
Enjoy Steemit! Have a nice evening!

Thanks, hope something in the post helped you out!

You're welcome! Sure! It's very helpful!
I hope your post helped out (and will help out) a lot of new people! All the best!

Engaging with authors and providing feedback conversationally is definitely the most effective. Also the added benefit of learning from others is always a plus. Demanding follows or upvotes is a quick way to turn others off to your content.

Yes, I'm always trying to learn from others on this platform. Really it just accelerates and increased the chances of success here.

Excellent tips buddy, keep em coming. I'm sure you have a wealth of knowledge on steem it considering you've been involved for 5 months, although you said you took 2 months off.

You just earned yourself a new follower.

Oh, there or so many more people here with more knowledge but I will try to provide mine when I feel like I have some.

Great advice! Thank you for sharing!

Of course, I'll share more when I have more!

Thank you, every tip given here is great advise.
There is so much to learn.... and now I'm off to hunt for competitions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66492.65
ETH 3309.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72