You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should STEEM be Steam? or Self-Esteem?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

It definitely should not be STEAM. There is already something very large known by that. Valve's Steam platform is perhaps one of the largest video game markets on the planet right now.

So yeah, you don't want to be calling it that.

As far as I know STEEM came from ESTEEM as in Self-esteem as you indicated.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts @dwinblood. To be clear, I'm not saying to call the site or anything Steam, the site is STEEMit. I'm saying the association of the site is steam and should be steam, which is already happening anyway.

Yes... I think they should have called it something different to avoid confusion with the Steam platform which I believe has 11+ million people actively using it at any given time.

I use Steam a lot so I see people get confused when I talk about one or the other. They will get confused about which one I am talking about.

If I say STEEMIT they are not confused, but if I talk about the STEEM currency and blockchain they often are.

If it was inspired by ESTEEM as in Self-Esteem then it's kind of too bad in hindsight they just didn't call the currency esteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71