You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I up vote this guy ranting? No I might face retaliation

in #steemit8 years ago

Bingo. I've been using computers since 1982. My first modem was a 300 BAUD modem. I was using the internet in 1989 and 1990 well before WWW hit. I in fact designed what were precursors to forums on a Vax VMS system used by my school. I've used most of the social media platforms, hundreds of forums, and quite a number of portals that no longer exist.

Expecting users to "know" and being biased about what is "common sense" is poor design. That type of thinking ALWAYS fails. There are too many people with many different levels of intelligence, and it isn't even an intelligence thing. People approach problems differently. They think differently.

You cannot operate from ASSUMED rules, and what you consider COMMON SENSE, or because it was this way somewhere else. That doesn't work. Well actually it can work but with a lot of bumps, and pissed off people. Usually you only get away with it if it is tied to a job or some other thing which kind of forces people to DEAL WITH IT and use it.

The attitude produces piss poor software designs from a large scale deployment perspective. You simply cannot expect people to think the way you do. If anyone takes a Systems Analysis & Design course in Software Engineering or Computer Science they are usually shown this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67873.49
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80