You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Measuring the Steemit Barrier to Entry

in #steemit8 years ago

I actually considered when I first started writing a turing like bot that would post maybe a blog entry once a day that was procedurally generated by my own method and tapping into daily events. It would respond and carry on conversations with people that replied to it's blog.

I was going to do it because it is VERY challenging, yet is fun to program. Yet when I saw how many bots were active I decided not to.

It was not a money making blog, but more about messing around with the Turing test type setup.

Sort:  

I like most of your content @dwinblood, and love the fact your on my feed so I won't miss any of it. But, comments like this make me worry about you. No, I'm sure you'll stay cool.

Heh I am a programmer. You don't have to worry. I don't plan to ever do that at this point. I did an experiment like this in the early 90s on some campus BBS systems and people quite enjoyed it. So it is more about curiosity. Nothing to do with true sentience... I've tried to make things that could TALK to me in code since I was a kid. It is WAY harder than people realize why I am truly not worried about machine intelligence replacing many human things any time soon.

Things like common sense, intuition, wisdom, etc Those are things I don't think anyone has a clue how to replicate in a machine. They are good at following rules. Yet how do you make them follow rules when we don't quite understand those rules ourselves?

Anything I made would simply be a slightly more advanced version of something like Eliza. Those things are really easy to trip up.

Don't worry though as I have way too many things to do that, and once I saw how many bots were active here and we're only just getting started I scrapped the idea of doing that.

Really it would have been along the lines of a Siri, Cortana type thing. Though likely not actually very good at helping you answer questions. :P

I have MANY MANY interests. I have zero doubts some of them you will not think are cool.

That's what makes us individuals. I haven't written an AI that talks to people for a very long time. If I do it'll be part of a videogame with simple rules simply to make their dialog feel more natural instead of as though it were scripted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47