You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Say Hello To My Little Blog

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

It is kind of Ironic if we are talking K-12. I would take aptitude tests and it would tell me I should be an English teacher. That always made me so angry because I always had Ds and Cs in English.

Though I loved to read and I read a lot.

Then my Senior Year we had a course that we all asked for that didn't exist until that year. They finally had a creative writing class. Since everyone that I was in the class with asked for that class to be created it ended up being pretty special.

I remember that the teacher had us doing poetry and all kinds of things. She also pretty much threw all of the rules out the window and just wanted us to write. I also was allowed to take a 2nd semester of it as a special topic.

After I took that class in College I could write 4 page papers a couple of hours before they were due and get As. I never had problems again. It turns out I was not particularly responsive to the traditional teaching style, but I must have been very responsive to the way that last teacher taught it.

I write now mostly to talk to people or when writing instructions. I haven't written much for fun in a long time. I probably should do that and I believe steemit will help.

I wrote two pieces in the following ASCII Internet Magazine before WWW pages existed (in other words we had to make images out of letters). This was in 1993.

Two of my works are in this:
http://dwapi.com/textfiles/magazines/ICS/ics1-01

Kind of funny to go back in the time machine and read those. I also wrote all the subscription handling software, and pretty much ended up being the editor of that. It survived several years after I left that college.

EDIT: And the person that said "Kate your art is dope." is spot on. Very nice work. I simply was answering your question you started out your post with. I also really loved a music class I took my senior year. I wish I had taken one before that. I was completely self taught in music up to that point.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your link! I LOVE creative writing. I took it also in school also and didn't think I was going to like it as much as I did. It was awesome, and really the pivotal point when I started writing poetry too.
-Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50