You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Tax Calculation and Payment System

in #steemit7 years ago

Great work. I am going to resteem this as I think I'll need to refer back to this now and again.

One thing I do want to state. Steem Power is not actually considered currency according to what people at Steemit Inc. have been saying for some time. It is actually a little accounting magic, it is a number.

Is it an investment? In some ways yes. Though not as you would normally see one. It is not liquid. You cannot cash it all out whenever you want.

It is only when converting it to Steem that it actually becomes SOMETHING.

Therefore, I'd think the capital gains and all of that are not really applicable. I am no accountant though. I'd believe that the time you power it down to steem that at that point it becomes something taxable.

It is murky.

I am not an trader who tries to hold a bunch of crypto. I tend to leave my steem power alone for now, and I convert my SBD and STEEM into fiat that I use to buy various things fairly quickly. I do need to keep better track of this and that is partially why I find your article valuable.

Sort:  

I agree with you, I'm leaving everything in Steem power for as long as I can.. I don't think it should be taxable in Steem power

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60