Hanging onto Steem Power is about a lot more than wealth accumulation. It is also about the future of the steem blockchain.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Many of you likely have noticed the steemit community, the steem blockchain, and the other projects running on top of the blockchain like busy.org, chainbb, esteem, etc are not like other social media sites on the internet. When it comes to the discussions something magical is happening here. How is it we can discuss things here that on other sites will usually devolve down to name calling, trolling, and general unpleasantness?

Well first though we have the ability to down vote (aka the flag) it generally is not used too often. There are exceptions, but in general unless there is a really good reason to use it most people do not. Using it for a purely opinionated reason that has nothing to do with protecting the community tends to make the person a target. They may find themselves the target of flags after that and they tend to either change their ways or they are not part of this community for long.

There are exceptions. There are occasionally those that have amassed a large amount of steem power that will swing their sword of opinion around and whack posts that the rest of the community may frown upon. When challenged they will typically mention "it is my steem power, and I can vote how I like". This is actually a true statement. Though if everyone were to vote the way they do soon this community would not be the beautiful place that it is. In fact, it'd potentially be far more hostile than any other social media community.

Why would it potentially be more hostile? If you've ever experienced a flag here for purely subjective reasons that had nothing to do with spam, abuse, or plagiarism then it likely had a huge mental impact on you. It likely felt like a gut punch, and for some reason it may have depressed you far more than up votes lift you. Though it is equal to an up vote but in the opposite direction for some reason it seems to impact people far more than the up vote. By many months of observation the reactions would seem to support this. The person will generally act like they are attacked. There are the exceptions who do not react as such and simply roll with it. They do not appear to be the norm.

A key survival mechanism is to NOT fall to the temptation of verbally attacking or flagging the person back that was not particularly nice to you. I've actually never seen this work out too well. I've seen it result in a lot of hostility. It is particularly dangerous to do this if your target is some massive whale. I have challenged people doing these activities before. We each have our own methods, and you don't have to use mine. All I can tell you is that I was always civil. If they called me names, or belittled me I tried really hard to not do the same. It can sometimes be really difficult. Yet, all I can say is I have done this several times and once my target was the 7th most powerful account on steemit at the time. He has laid waste to many others. He did call me names, and belittle me. Yet I replied civil. We kind of in an unspoken way agreed to disagree, and something magical happened. He didn't flag me. He didn't put me on some auto-down vote bot. I once pointed out that the only reason I could think that he didn't flag me was because I was civil, and while it was obvious we disagreed on some things he could tell I cared about steemit and the community. His only response to that was to reply "He is right". So this is how I believe I've managed to not be decimated by a huge powerful person who has no problems swinging the down vote sword. Perhaps my experience might help some of the rest of you.

So what does this have to do with Steem Power?


That was indeed a lengthy build up to the true intention of this post. We love this environment. We love the amazing conversations we have here. We love the fact people should feel free to discuss many topics that often cannot easily be discussed anywhere else. We love that this is decentralized, and thus difficult and potentially near impossible to take down.

With the decentralization comes an issue. You cannot create moderators, and police to force people to behave a certain way. Doing so tends to centralize the power somewhere, and you are giving other humans power that others do not have. They can just as easily turn into a subjective censoring machine. We've seen this happen with moderators at other sites.

So that means WE are the moderators and custodians of this beautiful and potentially world changing experiment.

As you interact and your steem power increases you potentially become more and more capable of helping to keep this project working like it is. This is extremely important. It is perhaps more important than you realize.

The floodgates have not yet opened


There has been no serious advertising attempts made for Steem and Steemit at this point. This is by design and that will change in the near future. When that change occurs we could potentially have millions of people flooding steemit.

They will arrive only being familiar with how facebook, reddit, etc work and they will show up here and try to use steemit like those places until they learn how things operate. Without people like you and I who have accumulated steem power our beautiful community could devolve into something nowhere near as beautiful almost over night. The fact that there are so many of us that have steem power that love this community and know what it is and how it works is the thing that can hopefully stop this from happening.

We will be the custodians that can shepherd the new users towards the way the community works. We are the ones that can hopefully keep it from exploding.

If it gets as popular as I believe it likely will we eventually can have some wealthy people that might buy a lot of steem using money and power up. They could become a big whale instantaneously and they too could start swinging the down vote sword however they want. This could be pretty damaging. The only thing that can help with this is those of us that have been here for a long time banding together and doing something to try to mitigate that when it happens. Odds are this will happen at some point. Murphy's Law tends to kick in. This is especially true of technologically based systems like this one. With our steem power we can hopefully minimize the damage a Murphy's Law type incident might bring with it.

On the positive side if there are people powering up to whales overnight that would quickly drive the value of steem up and thus any steem power you hold will be worth a lot more.

Ups and Downs


It is likely as with anything that the value of steem will fluctuate and go up and down. It could some day drop back to the $0.10/steem it was a few months ago. The key here is not to panic. That is actually a positive time where your posts tend to earn you more and more steem power at a rapid pace. It is also an opportunity to buy steem and power up for a lot less money. So during those down periods there are also some positives. For when one of the up swings comes like the one we've been in for over a month now that steem power that you got for a very low price suddenly becomes very valuable. It has increased by over 10,000% in the last two months.

Steemit/Steem Blockchain has something other crypto currencies do not. It holds something of value beyond simply the currency itself. It holds our creations, and the things we have consigned to be stored in the blockchain. For some people this may be worth more than the currency itself. For this reason I see steem being around for a long time, and potentially due to its staying power becoming the most important crypto currency on the market. The only true competitor at the moment as far as I'm concerned is Ethereum and that is purely due to the smart contract aspect. Though ultimately I believe people's own creations may end up being more important to the masses than smart contracts. It should also be noted we could also do smart contracts on the steem blockchain if people develop it. I suspect they may. The steem blockchain is also way faster than the Ethereum blockchain. Thus, it is actually superior and only currently lacks the smart contract. It should also be noted that as far as Smart Contracts that EOS is on the way an it likely will make Ethereum look like an infant when it comes to smart contracts while also providing a bridge for steem and other currencies. The bottom line is that I don't think steem is going to go anywhere, it is more than a crypto currency. Other than Ethereum the rest of the currencies would have trouble making this claim.

Unless there is a dramatic change, or some new crypto that does all of this better I don't see an investment into steem power and holding onto it as being particularly risky. People talk about currencies being backed by something. Steem is backed by our creations. So is a piece of metal (e.g. Gold) worth more to you than something you created other than for a purely monetary reason? So in reality Steem may be the only crypto out there that actually is backed by something. It is potentially backed by the most important of things. Our own creations, thoughts, and personalities. This is pure genius in design.

Sort:  

Is it me or do I sense some fear here? This is the second post I've read today dedicated mostly to the woes of flagging. What you are saying is that there is a balance issue here, and seemingly nobody has put forth a way to solve the imbalance.

Whales 100% have the ability to swing their sword, to fully censor if they want and there is no moderators to stop them. It truly is Power in the purest sense of the word.

With our steem power we can hopefully minimize the damage a Murphy's Law type incident might bring with it.

So you believe that it is inevitable. There should be more than hope to solve and survive the fallout that you purport to come someday. Flawed is the word that's currently ringing in my ears.

The imbalance has already been solved in code and it'll be effective when Hardfork 19 goes live. It's not scheduled yet, but most likely will be some time this month. Whales will lose an order of magnitude in influence and can be countered easily. Currently, if it currently takes 100 dolphins to counter a whale vote, it'll take only 10 after HF19.

cool, I am a mid sized Dolphin, and I hope to help as many steemians (that deserve it of course) as I can.

full steem ahead!

I'm with you! I'm mid sized too :3

Welcome to Steemit.com @oceancoinz Please let me know if you have any questions. Great #introduceyourself post. I had @randowhale give you a slight boost, and I will re-steem your post as well. Have fun!

full steem ahead!

You are welcome! I was hoping for @randowhale to do a little better for you, but then again it does vary. Remember if you use their service, there is no M in their name.

No problem, I'll help pump up your posts too. ;)

Gentlemen, start your guilds

It will be interesting to see how the flagging wars go after the hardfork

That would be a great post to write.

My first thought was the possibility of garnering support from your followers/followed to counter the neg.

I then thought of a n00b, such as I am, with little power in such network as I have, to do that.

Then I thought of groups of Steemians with similar interests, including some that might be interested in ensuring that whimsical whales don't run around pulling the wings off flies.

I am glad that the outrageous imbalances in wealth in the world will not be accorded equivalent power to squash speech after HF19, as the two things are not the same thing, and should be separate.

Reputation, however, seems a better means of regulating the power to crush spam, that still might be able to harm n00bs, but also be simpler of rectification by concerned groups.

Just the thoughts of my admittedly naive perspective on how to preserve freedom of speech in a world where the powerful may not desire speech that irritates them.

Thanks for your informative reply to the post.

I'm with you! I'm mid sized too :3

Loading...

A lot of flagging only hides your posts under one click. It isn't deleted.

Lets see how the HF19 changes balance.

Flawed is right, "broken" is another way to put it. People/supporters can upvote or "buy" the produced content of others with upvotes, and all it takes is one rich petty plutocractic ruler to come along, and say hey I don't like you, or your post, and they just flag it with their accounts or accounts, which is like "unbuying" the allocation of rewards others have supported you with and take any amount they want off if they have the SP (like 95% or even 100% of your rewards, gone!) Check my posts since the end of February and you will see what can happen when you get mistreated and challenge the authority of the Steemit power elite. Does the community at large care? Nope. Many people think these plutocratic rulers who get to do what they want with impunity are int he "right" and "good" for their behavior. It's sad.

You have raised very valid points and it was certainly a very interesting read. Yes our priorities at this point in time should be right and we should look at Steemit's future positively.

I think this is a great article but I think steem can not rest on its laurels. I introduced steem to everyone at work, almost all of them have not yet been approved and the balance have had to have "lessons" on how to use it. If something is going to be adopted by the masses, it's going to need to be easy to use and needs to provide a USP beyond just the fact that it is a cryprocurrency.

Yes, the approval thing is an issue. I still have a lot of people I tried to get into it since I started. Many of them are kicking themselves now. As to learning. It does need to be as easy as we can make it, but it also different so there will always be some curve just because it is different and at the very least people need to realize it is different and find out what that means to them.

Absolutely brilliant post! I agree there is so much potential right here in Steemit and we are basically showing the world a different way, a way that supports creators and encourages good communities. I also think like you say the bad effect of too much power can have. It's wise for the big guns at the moment just to think about it and look at what could happen in these situations and what can be done to benefit the WHOLE community.

I think this is a useful post, It's my day 2 on SteemIt and this cleared up a lot of questions I had around content quality.

Was researching the whole day yesterday to understanding this whole thing with a whiteboard and still had a lot of questions which were cleared here. Thanks @dwinblood

My pleasure. We have a lot of new people even some close to me and I could see that these were things that a lot of people were not SEEING. This does help people get up to speed faster.

You bring up a very good point there: that Steem is probably the only crypto that's backed by something. Not just something but real people with their real creations and their really valuable attention

I wrote in another comment just now that we humans give cryptocurrency value, and without us they're worthless. Steem is one crypto with a special combination of implied value and is backed up by a human-supported, value creation ecosystem that's constantly creating more value for it.

Pure genius in design for sure. Steemit was big even during it's inception, and won't necessarily be big only when the world finally uses it mainstream. Thanks for adding another dimension to my understanding of Steem and cryptocurrencies in general.

Well it was kind of an AHA moment for me write before I wrote that post, when I suddenly realized it is actually backed by something.

Thanks for sharing your epiphany with us. It hit me like "how did I not notice this before?"

Yeah that is kind of how it hit me too... so it was "I have to write about this" type of moment. It was also one of those moments of clarity that I actually managed to write what I was thinking pretty well.

I could tell as I was reading.. you were really in your element there and you expressed yourself very well. Well done!

Thanks for this post and perspective... which I am also in agreement with.

We have only seen the tiniest tip of the iceberg-- right now it seems like "we are REALLY growing" with 1000+ new accounts per day... just wait till it's 50,000 new accounts per day. One of the reasons I'm a big proponent of gradual "organic" growth here is precisely that we can get totally swamped if there's a sudden massive publicity campaign. I've seen firsthand what two million new users in two months can do to an unprepared social content site... and it's not pretty.

I'm here for the long haul (I see this as a 5-year plus investment-- hopefully longer!) and plan to gradually keep powering up slowly as time goes by; so far I have taken out very little (just enough to pay a few bills, a couple of times) and don't intend to change that. I have been mostly "hand recruiting" new people to Steemit, and my pitch is not about "making money" but about "becoming stakeholders" as a result of creating content here. Hopefully it's the sort of approach that will help the platform remain stable in the long term.

Yes, you and I are of like mind on this and quite a few other things. I know Steemit Inc. intentionally has not begun their advertising push. Once they do I expect we'll see much larger numbers joining.

Well, until they 100% sure we won't have another episode of new account approvals grinding to a halt for a week (a couple of weeks ago), they have NO business thinking about advertising anything. The "general public" will NOT give time of day to a site that takes 6 days to create an account... what's more, many will go off and post "Steemit is a JOKE" reviews all over creation. Best to avoid that...

Yep. I am fairly certain they don't want huge droves of people yet. Ned pretty much indicated that was such in a weekend podcast a few weeks ago on Steemspeak. He did indicate the time where they would want them was close at hand though.

@dwinblood Awesome i like your post keep it up and in the future write more article like this post

Keep go your way.

and i throw question to you.
if you think it is right way, exercise your rights.

https://steemit.com/help/@ludorum/need-your-help-my-house-burnt-out

We can't really know what is coming, so looking at all possibilities and planning ahead to be reasonable, positive, and good role models is important. Anything we practice we will do better when the crunch comes. The true and lasting value of Steem will be the community we form.

Yes, I agree. It is also interesting that our currency is actually BACKED by something. Our creations, and our community. This makes it quite unique, and potentially quite valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65342.69
ETH 3543.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39