Let's Help Each Other Learn How Things Work HeresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi peeps!

Like probably many of you, I am on a mission to understand what this Steemit thing is about and how we can benefit from reading and sharing information on this platform.

What the Heck is Steemit?

According to Wikipedia, it is a social network where you can get rewards that is based on the blockchain for posting information (March, 2018). By creating content and commenting on other people's posts, the Steem blockchain creates Steem Dollars which are rewarded to you (Wikipedia, March, 2018). In short, you get paid to post information and comment on other individuals' content.

Why Become Part of Steemit?

I will answer this by explaining why and how I got involved. I am barely making enough money to hack away at my debt and pay my bills. So, I began searching for ways to earn more income. I began studying economics, learning about how the markets work, understanding what the Federal Reserve is and orienting myself on the history of money. This led me to people who were looking to preserve their wealth, particularily Josh Sigurdson of World Alternative Media (WAM). He talked about how cryptocurrencies is a way to combat the banking system and protect your wealth (WAM, 2018). He also mentioned that Steemit is a way to obtain cryptocurrency in the form of Steem Dollars (WAM, 2018). Then I said, why not?

What is Next?

Join! It is 100% free to sign up so you have absolutely nothing to lose. For those of you who have already joined, I would start making at least one post a day. Talk about things that interest you and how you can help people. Especially early on, focus on building your following by creating informative content or something that provides value to someone in someway. Interact with people in a constructive way that adds value to the dialogue. "Value" is the key word here.

Good luck on your journey! I hope all of you got something out of this. I will post more on this soon..

-Dumb Goomba

References

World Alternative Media. (2017, December 16). The End Of Mainstream Social Media IS HERE! - How Steemit Is Changing The World (w/ Stephen Kendal). Retrieved from

Wikipedia. Retrieved March 23, 2018 from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steemit

Sort:  

Hey @dumbgoomba, gotta love Steemit! Still awesome platform and community and it's nice having great people contribute so we all benefit. Keep up the good work! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51