Try to explain anything about cryptocurrencies to your parents/grandparents

in #steemit8 years ago


My mother visited me few hours ago and asked:

- Why do you spend so much time on your computer past few months?

I answered, shortly:

- I'm trading!

- You're trading what?

So I tried to explain to her all about Bitcoin and how it all started. I used simple word as: INTERNET CURRENCIES, buying, selling, waiting for the best time... then I started to explain to her in more complicated sentences which included words: diagrams, Ethereum, Steem, Dash. I tried to explain to her that you can actually earn some money by trading but she interrupted me:

- That is some kind of fraud! I advice you not to invest your money in it!



I got mad and I realized that further explaining would be meaningless. So I went on Steemit to write my new post and she asked me what site is it. So I told her how Steemit works. She didn't understand a word! I tried to explain that you can earn money by writing posts and comments. I even try to use "children words" to explain how voting works. I told her that I earned 86$ few days ago on my post about selective breeding. I even told her about low price of Steem and that she could buy some, because today it fell below 0.002 and I expect it to start grow up! So she asked:

- But where is your money?

I told her that half of that amount was added to my Steem Power, but with other half I also bought Steem Power. I must mention that I had a lot of trouble trying to explain to her how Steem Power works. She asked me typically "20 century questions and quotes" like:

- You earned something, but you gave all back!

or:

- If you get money for posting, then someone other lose that money!

or:

- Why are you doing it, you have bank for that!

or:

- I don't believe in it, someone will robe you!


I hope that you guys have more opened parents for this kin of things. I love my mom but you can't explain anything to someone who still walks around with Nokia 3310. Peace!


Sort:  

Cute very real sounding as I was that Mother!

@dumar022
Beautiful
Now you can show them
Sweet 👍❤️❤️❤️

LOL i can relate! Years ago i tried explaining faxes to my mother-- she actually thought they must somehow physically go through the air! ---She wouldn't get this either!
i think if people realised that actual "money " is based on the production and labour of people and that no bank ever gave you anything (and it is all fraud), that they might be able to grasp the crypto currency concept which is also based on value created by people. Cheers!

And "money" is printed onto "paper (or whatever the material is)" lol.

Sounds familiar. I used a comparison of how technology changed in the past 100 years and where it could go from now. It's a sign of the times.

I explained it to my parents by comparing it to trading between physical currencies. I just made it simple and said there are many different cryptocurrencies each with their own algorithms that and economies much like the physical currency of a country. For the most part each country has their own currency and way of distributing that currency.

Well it will take a longer time for people to familiarize and normalize themselves with. Just give them time, how long did the internet took to become popular...

You have done it bro !
So happy for you !

thank you bro, it started

I had the same problem with my father...

"Why you always switch to BitCoin and Steemit? I want to talk about Blockchain!!!"

love it!

Your mother is smarter than you. I hope you didn't spend all your BTC on Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63