Honestly: I'm kinda stupid, please Steemit genious, explain something to me

in #steemit8 years ago

I am true voter. I am great UPVOTER. I do upvote on 90% of my feeds. I FOLLOW 55 users, most of them are much stronger than me. I am very low on my STEEM POWER (11 point few), so I consider that I can upvote how much I want and I ignore the fact that sometimes I have 60/70 UPVOTES in 24 hours. I upvote things that I like and respect, also I support my LOCOMOTIVES (people I follow) on their posts. I just can't stop UPVOTE. I like so many things here on Steemit, I met so many great peoples and their ideas. 

Now it is easy to me to do so, because, my 11 of STEEM POWER is tiny crumb in this large SP sea, and it can't bring any earnings to someone, but I can help because one extra UPVOTE means something to someone.

So, my questions... let's be honest: I inherited shares of a failing factory and I have to sell it. I consider to buy some STEEM POWER and, probably, my upvote could reward someone with a cent or two, maybe three. So, I understood that I must reduce my UPVOTING and not to prostitute my UPVOTES everywhere because it could lose the value. But, this what I do now (I like many posts, upvote and support), is that right thing to do now, when my SP is weak??? And is it wise to buy 500 - 600 STEEM POWER in next few days???

Sort:  

When you have low SP (Steem Power), the best thing to do is upvote what you're sure will make it, otherwise you will divide your votes between all the posts and replies. This isn't good because eventually your upvote won't even be counted, as if it was nothing. It recovers completely in a 24-hour period. So, from my understanding, voting around twice each day on low SP maximizes your voting power.

Buying SP is wise if you want Steem to grow, as it's literally a long term investment, because you cannot take out your SP entirely for a minimum of 1 year. Please think of it carefully.

Buying SP is wise if you want Steem to grow, as it's literally a long term investment, because you cannot take out your SP entirely for a minimum of 1 year.

This, I think, is not entirely correct.

  1. You should buy SP if you have reason to believe that the system will grow, not if you WANT it to do so. Especially not if you consider to invest serious money. (Serious as in relative to your personal networth).
  2. You can not take out your money entirely for a minimum of TWO YEARS (not one) - but: you can decide to receive your proportional weekly rates from day one.

I know that but I LOVE the system and I believe in it!

In that case go on and invest!
But I would just suggest not to burn any money you can't afford to lose. After all, right now steem is just an experiment and there are a lot of things that could go wrong over the next months and years. :)

  1. I view Steem as a platform that I want to grow, I'm not personally investing here to make big bucks, so that's why my view on that is that way, investing in it will only help.
  2. Whoops, my bad, that's right: 2 years. Thought I read 52 weeks somewhere but you're right.

@dumar022 - I would like to know the same. Thanks for bringing it on the table.

I don't know if it is wise to buy steem power.
The best investment tip is: 'diversify'

As to voting: You can check your voting power on steemstats.com ( thx @jesta )
As far as I understand: The votes don't only add up, but factorise somehow.
That means your upvote can have a bigger effect than just 0.000001 cent.

that is the part that I didn't understand very well

lol this is worth of my single upvote $ 0.00048774405355311

I just continue upvoting. Yes, my voting power was spent is only for first posts, and then it just formality, but i don't care about this.

Try not to vote more than 30 tomes in 24 hours. Your value of your votes goes down after 20 votes in a 24 hour window. This mean you need to be selective of what you vote on. Also dont vote gor things wothin the first 15 mins of creation. If you do the majority of the rewars will go to the author of that post.

here is one upvote for you. I guess I'll have to leave steemit for 24 hours to recover, then start with a new page

Steemit has huge potential bro! If I were u, i would invest in it.. Im transferring a significant amt of my steem in bittrex to steemit.. now is d best time to buy when price of steem is still relatively low.. ;)

Write an original story. Take a crazy picture of yourself for the post. Stand out and create your own steem power.

Voting a bit too much are we? Value your vote some more... If you want to support Steem, but are worried about the future price of Steem. You should by Steem Dollars. But I would think the price of Steem is defined by the barriere to obtaining steem. Your doing good for the Steem network all the same, just keep that in mind.

@dumar022 as for how much one's vote is worth seems to have no rhyme or reason to it .I say this because I have witnessed my vote vary greatly .I would not believe this if I had not been paying close attention to the dollar amount when making upvote .I have seen my upvote worth 0.00 to 30.00 another time 70.00 and I was upvoting one worth 700.00 and my upvote on that one jumped it to 950.00 which meant my upvote was worth 250.00 .I do not think someone else was voting at that exact same time but I suppose that is possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65775.18
ETH 2600.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68