Voting Power

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

What makes Voting Power increase?

Great explanation from @nurev . Thank you so much!

Power decreases with each vote. Voting frequently in a small amount of time increases the rate at which voting power decays and it recovers slowly after a period of not voting. How much the power decreases and how long it takes to build up again depends on the number of votes during a given period of time. You can view the percent of your voting power at any time at steemd.com/@yourusername

Sort:  

I am a confused steemian seeking better knowledge of the platform and I would appreciate any feedback you can provide.

  1. To be more specific, does voting power stay at 100% for the first 20 votes and then decline after that?

  2. Is it wise to vote until the voting power is down to 50% and then let it rise back up, or should you stop the second it drops just a little from 100%?

  3. And what is the deal with waiting until a post has been live for 30 minutes before upvoting it to receive 50% of it's earnings? Am I correct about this concept. Is it true that if you upvote a post as soon as it's live the author receives 100% of the earnings?

All these rules make me feel like Steemit is already the highest paying video game in the world.

Stay Steeming. May all your steem be fire.
@dudutaulois @nurev

The amount of Steem Power you hold determines you voting power.. Voting frquently dereases your power(<20 votes recommended in 24 hours).

If I vote less than 20 I loose power?

Power decreases with each vote. Voting frequently in a small amount of time increases the rate at which voting power decays and it recovers slowly after a period of not voting. How much the power decreases and how long it takes to build up again depends on the number of votes during a given period of time. You can view the percent of your voting power at any time at steemd.com/@dudutaulois.

Thank you so much! Now I got it right. I was doing some experiments on voting to check how it works and didn't realize the time between votes affect it.

@nurev can I add this piece of information in my post with credits for you?

sure. don't even need credit, all of the information is available on the whitepaper.

voting power resets after 24 hours, I believe.
someone correct me if Im wrong

I see mine going up and down all the time during 24h period. I still not sure what control it.

How long does it take for voting power to go back up?

What happens if I decided to Unvote? Will it give me back the voting power?

No it does not as I've experienced it myself.
Also reading about it here after it happend: https://beta.chainbb.com/steemit/@oflyhigh/important-tips-interesting-thing-you-need-must-to-know-about-un-vote-by-oflyhigh

It is very good information. I am really searching for such information. Thanks for your clarification.

GOT Upvote
Have an upvote @dudutaulois! :D

Okay, that's not very clarifying.

I am a downvote bot. Contact @pharesim at slack if you think I am misbehaving. Please help fighting spam! Upvote this post to strengthen the bot, downvote the parent post if it has positive upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66103.77
ETH 3554.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11