You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: does Steemit edit the files we have uploaded?

in #steemit6 years ago

Heh, that post is pretty cool.
It seems after almost 2 years I'm still figuring out what the Steem blockchain actually is, and isn't, and what Steemit actually is, and isn't, what parts overlap, and where there are holes.
I love so much about this whole thing, but so much of it seems like it's moving slowly.
I feel like several dozen of my best posts are now much harder to read, and/or basically pointless. Some can be re-done using smaller images or another image host, but I wasn't anticipating having to do that.
And stuff just like this keeps happening, over and over, every few weeks there's another downgrade or side-step.

Sort:  

Will do.
It's all a little much for a simple content-creator. IMO we need to be making it as easy as possible for people with content, to bring it to the blockchain. Barriers between the blockchain and quality unique content must be found and removed. Some content creators (fine art producers for example) might not have any programming background. I do understand html and I've been using PCs since they became available in the 80s, so I'm fairly computer savvy.
I guarantee there are other image crafters out there who don't like their pixels being changed or moved. It's not right. Files should never be changed without the artist's consent, not even for whatever excuse is being tossed around this time ("it's getting too expensive to continue the blockchain unless we turn all your photos into thumbnails and limit your posts with Resource Credits".)
Realistically, there should be somewhere in the internet people with quality unique images can go, without having to learn any new code or procedures, and upload their images reliably, without having them altered later. I swear, we nearly had that back in 2003 or so, but it never actually happened. Here we are living in the distant future of 2019 now, and we still can't upload small JPGs anywhere without having them become somebody else's property, or being edited without your permission.
The blockchain's proponents promise much more than it delivers.
"Keep waiting". Nah, done waiting. I know the technology exists and is being withheld for political and economic reasons.
But as a computer layman, all I can do is hope the promises someday finally start coming true.
Until then I'll certainly research InterPlanetary File System :)

I don't think there is a conspiracy and the technology is being withheld. Lots of people are working on this problem. The reason I mentioned IPFS is that once you upload something to it (say an image at a specific size), it cannot be altered (it's immutable).

The issue is the cost of storage and bandwidth when you're talking about images and video. Somebody has to pay for it. Even in the case of IPFS. That's why DTube videos disappear after awhile. If you want to make sure your DTube videos never go offline, you're going to have to "pin" them on your own IPFS node (or pay someone else to do pin them).

Putting large blobs of data on a blockchain is a bad idea as it would make the blockchain costly to transmit and store (which is something that leads to centralization). Better to simply have pointers (e.g.: IPFS hashes) to the content stored elsewhere.

Thanks for the explanation.
I understand that there are real costs to do with data storage and transfer. I'm sure that, unregulated, a total open system would result in certain people and groups abusing free data storage and/or transfer.
I think we'll be able to overcome a lot of the costs, but considering scaling, it may always be better not to have certain blobs of data on a blockchain.
I'm happy there are many eyes and minds on it all. Simple content creators like myself have to at some point just trust that the tech experts are doing what's best.
Speaking of content creators, I really think we have to keep it easy and convenient for them to provide their content. He/she(s) who figures out how to make the content-creators happy, will be able to make everything else work. A steady flow of exceptional unique content that people want to consume is a powerful and valuable thing. If we succeed here, that's what we'll have, and I guess I'm proactively protective of it. Like I said, I'm happy it's open source, so I don't have to be paranoid that anyone might try and manipulate or co-opt this powerful and valuable thing we're all putting ourselves into.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65